We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joshua's

Joshua's
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have enjoyed dining at this restaurant for several years; was recommended by the hotel where I was staying in Wells. When in this area for the leaf season one of the highlights is always a memorable meal at Joshua's. I have never been disappointed in any menu item I have tried. The service and atmosphere is always very relaxing and enjoyable; I sometimes just eat in the small bar area as they do offer the full menu available. The staff is always friendly and attentive without hovering or making you feel rushed in any way. Their prices are reasonable and generous portions; I prefer small portions and often order off the appetizer menu. The wine selection and daily drink specials are always very good. I will continue to frequent this restaurant when in this area-good value and a pleasant experience always.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harrywjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    44
    16
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodsville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our last night here in Wells. The atmosphere was wonderful!!! The meal and service was great. It is a converted home. The rooms were dimly lit with lights and lot of candles. A very romantic and upscale feeling. We would certainly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hobbsks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

A new restaurant for us- based on a recommendation from the staff at our hotel. Loved the old Colonial House it was in -we sat right next to the fireplace, which was aglow with candles-simply lovely. The food was excellent too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We ate at Joshua's early (5:15) before we attended "Buddy" at Ogunquit Playhouse. Joshua's is everything it was promised it would be. Excellent food, location, and service. Perfect location for a pre- theatre meal. We had the rack of lamb (superb), scallops, soup du jour, among our choices. Everything was delicious. It accommodated our vegetarian diner with fresh from the garden choices. Our waitress was knowledgeable, personable, and truly attentive. She even brought a mint chocolate chip ice cream tasting for our daughter when we didn't have time for dessert.

Next time we will come hungrier with lots of time to enjoy this excellent restaurant to its fullest advantage. It deserves it's #1 rating in Wells.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernBelle069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
552 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Ending trip on a high note”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Sept 30
Away for 3 weeks, we chose this resto located 15" from our inn to share our last dinner before returning home tomorrow morning.
Luckily we had reservations, for this place is hopping in a sedate, refined way. Though we booked because of the top-rated TA reviews, its repute is known to the innkeepers.
The ambience is understated with Shaker-style chairs and tables with white linen. I like it when the tables are separated widely to allow for a normal tone conversation. The service is attentive, and the prices are surprisingly reasonable for food as well as wine.
There is a daily special supplement to the menu. The specials are in itself a menu. I didn't do wrong to order the salmon and lobster combo with starters of Caesar salad and fried artichoke hearts. Our total, including the 2 glasses of white zin and tip, was $103, one of our most expensive dinners on this tour, but certainly worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joshua's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing