We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way Over-Priced During Off-season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
276 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Way Over-Priced During Off-season”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

We usually love staying at Hampton Inns and we pulled into this one to inquire about a 2-night stay. Now mind you, this was off-season, AFTER Columbus Day weekend/foliage and in the middle of the week to boot. Price for a standard non-smoking room was $149 plus tax. No AARP discount, no AAA discount, .....take it or leave it.(parking lot was mostly empty this time of year) We left it and went down the road and got a one bedroom condo at the Elmwood for $89.. I wonder what their in-season rates are? $300 a night???

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crickerpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    165
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
248
281
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

Yes it is a Hampton Inn and so it has a lot of features that are repeated throughout the world but none of them can be complained about and one of them is absolutely outstanding - the bed and the bedding. We have had a similar experience (in the Westin on Key Largo) but not at this price!! Breakfast was standard fare but with pretty weak orange juice which may not have ever seen an orange but we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeswickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
330 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

I stayed here on HHonors points, and am quite thankful that I had plenty since otherwise the hotel would have set me back $170, and that is the only issue I have with this place, given its location. The room is fairly standard for Hampton Inns: very comfortable, with nice amenities and free internet. We had a room on the top floor, in the direction of the beach, but there are no views of the ocean from this place. There are two areas where Hampton Inns often have weaknesses: one is super-slow elevators, and the other is inadequate space for the free breakfasts (the breakfast here, as in most Hamptons, is quite good though nothing too impressive). I'm happy to say that neither of these problems is present in this Hampton Inn. It also has a decent indoor pool, rec room, and computer terminal.
So I like the place, but I'm really curious as to why a hotel which not only doesn't offer ocean views, but isn't even within walking distance of a beach (or much of anything else) charges so much... Well, I'm certainly no expert on Wells, so I'll have to stay befuddled on this. If it suits your budget, you'll like the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

My husband was diagnosed with pneumonia when we landed in Maine and we
needed to hole up in a hotel until he was able to finish his antibiotics. The Hampton
Inn was a nice place to stay during that time period. The desk helped me find a restaurant I was looking for so I could get take out food. The breakfast buffet was nice and varied.
The cookies in the afternoon were outstanding.
Only thing that I missed was haviing a phone book in our room. They no longer provide that.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

It is not often during our travels that a hotel will exceed my expectation with service and cleanliness, but the Hampton Inn and Suites in Wells Beach certainly has earned high marks from this persnickety traveler. We could not but notice the cliche' "new car" sort of smell and cleanliness to perfection throughout the property. One would think it just opened for business recently; however, this inn is 3 years old, with the appearance and feel of a brand new hotel. The staff is friendly and goes out of their way to provide prompt, friendly service. The lobby, hallways and rooms are well decorated and well maintained. Our 2 queen studio suite ($210/night) was one very large open room, with a nice kitchen area, dressing area and small bathroom. This roomy suite was immaculate and nicely furnished with a fine decorator's touch. The bedding (and sofabed) provided us with quite a comfortable night's sleep. The breakfast area in the lobby is just as spotless, as is the pool area. There is a large brick patio just outside the indoor pool area with tables and chairs, flower gardens, and a lovely landscaped lawn. My husband and I enjoyed a relaxed evening with drinks and conversation on the comfortable patio while the teens enjoyed swimming only steps away in the pool. The shuttle bus to the ocean stops nearby every 20 minutes, but if you choose to drive, the beach is a straigh one mile away. During the day we drove our car, parking in the public lot without any problems ($15 day rate). Our stay here was absolutely perfect. I give this Hampton Inn in Wells Beach an EXCELLENT rating and would not hesitate to stay here again, in fact, I look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iTeachVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nursegirl12
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

My husband and I decided to go away for my birthday and thought Maine would be a nice place to go in the winter. When thinking about hotel options we decided to do it right and stay in a nice hotel that was a little more on the romantic side they your typical wells hotel. We reserved one of the rooms with a king size bed and a hot jet tub right in the room. We were a little early arriving to wells so we figured we would check to see if our room was ready. Sure enough it was ready way ahead of time. The guy who checked us in couldn't be any nicer. The entire staff was so nice and so accomodating. The room was HUGE and very nicely decorated. Everything was so clean. The bed was amazing, we still talk about it to this day. We always say we would love a mattress like they had there. The amenties that this hotel had were also fabulous. They had a wonderful breakfast setup that went from really early in the morning to check out time. They also have free internet with quite a few computers and a nice office setup that is avaliable to everyone. Everything about this hotel was just so nice. We had a wonderful relaxing weekend. The only down side to this hotel is of course the price. As they say " you get what you pay for" When we consider going back we always think about how much it costs and then have to think twice about it. All together wonderful hotel though.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursegirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

The staff and feel at this Hampton is very nice. They seem to go out of their way to please you and it was clean. The room though was very stuffy in that you can not open the window.
I had an allergic reaction on one of the two nights we stayed and almost considered going out of the hotel in the middle of the night in order to get some air. Fortunately, my medicine remedied the situation. The room was smaller than what I had imagined from the photos.
But we had stayed at another Hampton last summer and did have a larger room with a balcony down in Chincoteague so perhaps I was thinking this would be the same size with open windows too. The pool area and pool is a nice size and conveniently located to the elevators so it is easy to get your kids in and out. The breakfast was good and offered many choices. The exterior of the hotel is rather institutional looking and as I had said we had stayed at another Hampton which was a lot cozier and more upscale in feel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.0 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
3.0 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
6.8 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Address: 900 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wells
#5 Family Hotel in Wells
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit Hotel Wells
Hampton Inn And Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Hampton Inn Wells
Wells Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing