We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Can't beat this place for the Wells/Ogunquit area. Super clean, nice rooms, great staff. The kids loved the pool and hot tub area which was also one of the cleanest, nicest I have seen in any hotel. Great breakfast included in the cost plus free wifi. So great!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankc4261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 771 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our family stayed here last week. The hotel was clean. The room was clean, and the complementary breakfast was more than sufficient. omelettes, bacon, sausage patties, cereals, oatmeal, toast, english muffins, make your own waffles, orange juice, etc., etc. I don't see how anyone could say the breakfast was lacking. The staff kept everything full too.
The mattresses were some of the best we've experienced in any hotel, although the pillows were so soft they were practically non existent.
My only complaint was the air conditioning in the room. They have sort of a motion sensor tied into the a/c so that if there is no movement in the room it assumes nobody is there, and automatically resets the temperature to a preset level which was too hot for me. I had to keep getting up to readjust. Maybe there was a way to override, but I never asked. I understand that they utilize this sensor in order to minimize their energy costs, but I found it annoying.
The indoor pool is on the first floor, and the kids made good use of it. Again, a very clean facility.
The hotel itself is not on the water, nor in view of the water, but it is close enough for a very short drive to beaches and towns. Try Perkins Cove for a nice stroll near the entrance to Marginal Way.

Room Tip: pool and breakfast are on the first floor so a first floor room is convenient..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We decided to stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Wells - Ogunquit in Maine as the primary reason for our trip was to visit Ogunquit Playhouse and to see the beautiful area of Ogunquit and Wells. The hotel is about 10 minutes on a good day meaning no traffic. The bottleneck is always at Shore Road and US 1 route, especially in the evenings and weekends. Allow plenty of time to get to your destination.

The hotel is not too bad a stay for families. There were 5 adults and we opted for the suite with 2 Queen Beds and the sofa bed. It was a good size. The bathroom has a door but the sink is outside in the open close to the beds. I wish there was a door that would provide privacy in the sink area as a change room. The beds were extremely clean and it was a comfortable sleep.

Housekeeping could be a little more forward-thinking. We stayed here for 4 nights and on all those days, we had to ask for clean soap on the 3rd day. The soap we had at the sink was getting mushy. Eww! Maybe anticipate what your guests need?

I like the breakfasts in the morning. This is the first Hampton Inn I've stayed in that has variety in their breakfast items. One morning, we had fresh cut watermelon. Other mornings, we had blueberries and raspberries. So good with cold cereals! The lady in charge impressed us very much! Kudos to the lady in charge! She made sure everything was in place and was always replenishing. The hot food items also varied each day and that was nice, too! One day it was bacon, another day, we had sausage.

The business centre was very useful. I like to be able to surf the net quickly and print whatever we need.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Most people would not think of a Hampton Inn as a place to stay on a Maine vacation. The exterior of this property is out of character for the area. However, this was a delightful experience. The hotel is very clean, well appointed, and easily accessible from Rte 1. Located between Ogunquit and Wells's beaches and attractions, it is ideal for exploring the area. The breakfast was tasty but the breakfast area was a bit crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Upon check in room was found not to have been cleaned. Urine on toilet seat, toilet not flushed, dirty towel on back of bathroom door, hair all over bathroom floor and in tub, toe nail clippings on floor in front of nightstand, dead flies on windows sills, cracked ceiling light in bathroom, and medications in floor plant pot. Staff offered to send housekeeping and I requested new room after being unable to find another hotel in area. Next room had something gritty (sand or sugar) all over counter area. After staying one night we returned to find that housekeeping never came that day to clean the room and when we called to let the desk know they didn't offer to send them. Actually when we stated that we needed towels and shampoo we were told to come to the desk and get them. Hotel did offer to refund us one of the two nights stay however we booked with our credit card points which they didn't know how to do and suggested we contact them to ask for a refund. Entire stay was awful, staff was less than accommodating. Location is not really within walking distance to anywhere; beaches are too far to walk as is the town in ogunquit. if you don't mind driving though it is an easy quick drive to either ogunquit or Kennebunkport. I have stayed at Hilton brand hotels almost exclusively and doubt I will ever again after this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetravelingcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

WE stayed at the Hampton Inn because we stayed there before. The staff was very accommodating for our wish of adjoining rooms and refrigerator. We were traveling with a small child. The cleanliness of the room and bedding was as expected - super clean. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly and pleasant when asking for assistance. WE enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank BobMan957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here for a stop overnight when an unexpected family emergency occured. My grandfather became extremely ill, and he was rushed to the hospital. We were very unfamiliar with the area, obviously, being from NJ.... and I was extremely scared. The staff were fabulous when this occured. The receptionist offered to take me to the hospital which was a 40 minute drive to the hospital. I couldnt believe it. On top of that, the receptionist then came back to the hospital, and took us back to the hotel, when my grandpa was discharged. I cant say enough about this place. It was fantastic. Absolutely fantastic. Also....he bed was soooo comfy, as you can imagine, after that eventful night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanied831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.5 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.9 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 29 in Wells
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 29 in Wells
434 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
586 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit

Address: 900 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wells
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range: $114 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit Hotel Wells
Hampton Inn And Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Hampton Inn Wells
Wells Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing