We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tallwood was a real trip back in time.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tallwood Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tallwood Motel
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tallwood was a real trip back in time.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

When we first arrived at the Tallwood we were greeted by Ralph in his office(the garage attached to main house). We were given #6 across the lot. This was a 2 double bed room for my wife, daughter and myself. Room was very rustic at best. The ceiling was 2 tone white/grey in color. TV was a 19" with cable. Pool had to be filled nightly - by garden hose. Had the basic necessities really.Cons - Low water pressure, lack of towels, outdated rooms- Pros - very clean though. The Motel was within walking distance to the Maine Diner! All in all was a decent place for sleeping after being on the beach all day. Was also within walking distance (short drive 1.7 miles) to Drake Island Beach. Really some of the most beautiful beaches are found right in the area of Wells, ME.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TFish1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    12
    8
    46
See reviews for
20
37
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I normally don't write reviews but feel I have to,given how bad my experience was at the Tallwood Motel. We didn't go into this experience expecting a lavish stay but the room that we were given was atrocious. The room wreaked of mildew, the carpet was soaking wet in spots, the shower/bathroom was overgrown with mold in the tub and shower curtain and the entire room looked like it hadn't been clean in years. On top of this, the guy who worked there was very rude, not very helpful, and was more concerned with the number of guests in our room than whether we enjoyed or were satisfied with our stay. Basically, the experience was so bad that we would probably had preferred to spend the night in our car if we hadn't already paid for the room. Overall, I would definitely NOT recommend staying here and would say beware!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wells hotels

Cornish, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin and it was so overpriced for what we got. We had no ice, no remote for the tv, ( And the tv's were really old), No table or chairs. The porch was un -useable!!!
The rooms were so out dated and dingy. The only nice thing that I can say is they had a decent pool and a great location!!! Look elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Ask to look at your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were at Tallwood in July and we liked the place. We had the small cabin by the tree very clean. TV, AC , small fridge and free good coffee in the morning. There is a swimming pool in the yard and a BBQ area where you can cook your food. Nice people and good atmosphere. Recommended.

Room Tip: cabin 16 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed the weekend of June 1. Owners super nice, incredibly friendly. Nice, clean motel, close to everything. No complaints. Would stay there again!!.

Room Tip: Room #2 is nice and big with large picture windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

it was i very nice place to stay the staff furfilled my every needs and didnt leave anything out. the rooms are very nice and the layout was awsome. the bathroom is clean and ther is no bed bugs here. they should be opening this summer and i plan to be staying the summer there.

Room Tip: the cabins are awsome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Not extravagant, but okay motel for it's worth. Got blamed for some noise complaints that another tenant had (in which she left), when it turned out it was another group of people that was outside late at night and the owners assumed it was us since we were in close vicinity and age-group. The owners should get their facts straight before they point fingers at people. When discussing this with the owners, they were very rude and raised their voices (since they had just lost money to the tenants that left due to noise). We kept our side of the conversation calm and they could not do the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annichi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.6 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#3 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
4.9 mi away
Majestic Regency
Majestic Regency
#18 of 28 in Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
2.4 mi away
Belle of Maine
Belle of Maine
#20 of 28 in Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallwood Motel

Property: Tallwood Motel
Address: 2203 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4719
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tallwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tallwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallwood Hotel Wells
Tallwood Motel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing