We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same price year after years!! We love that”
Review of Tallwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tallwood Motel
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“Same price year after years!! We love that”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were at Tallwood in July and we liked the place. We had the small cabin by the tree very clean. TV, AC , small fridge and free good coffee in the morning. There is a swimming pool in the yard and a BBQ area where you can cook your food. Nice people and good atmosphere. Recommended.

Room Tip: cabin 16 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    13
    10
    47
See reviews for
23
39
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed the weekend of June 1. Owners super nice, incredibly friendly. Nice, clean motel, close to everything. No complaints. Would stay there again!!.

Room Tip: Room #2 is nice and big with large picture windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

it was i very nice place to stay the staff furfilled my every needs and didnt leave anything out. the rooms are very nice and the layout was awsome. the bathroom is clean and ther is no bed bugs here. they should be opening this summer and i plan to be staying the summer there.

Room Tip: the cabins are awsome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Not extravagant, but okay motel for it's worth. Got blamed for some noise complaints that another tenant had (in which she left), when it turned out it was another group of people that was outside late at night and the owners assumed it was us since we were in close vicinity and age-group. The owners should get their facts straight before they point fingers at people. When discussing this with the owners, they were very rude and raised their voices (since they had just lost money to the tenants that left due to noise). We kept our side of the conversation calm and they could not do the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annichi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wells hotels

NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had to cancel for a family emergency & were not charged any fee although they were entitled to.
We booked 2 weeks later and our room was CLEAN, FRESH, AND DELIGHTFUL. We had 2 queen beds and were a few steps from the swimming pool which we were able to make good use of. The family owned Motel is a friendly lovely place. We only experienced polite eager to please staff. Yes the shower was small but completely adequate. Other issues mentioned in the reviews I've read is incredible to me. We did request a non smoking and no pet room and that is what we received.
We will be returning to enjoy this hidden gem again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had booked a room at another hotel late in the afternoon on line. When we got there, the owner had sold the last room before she received the fax. She recommended Tallwoods, but said she had never seen the rooms inside.
It was late in the day on a Thursday in August and we didn't think we could find another place.
We checked in, paid $84 with Visa, but I didn't get a receipt since I thought I could get one at check out.
We went to the room and noticed immediately how shabby it was and the slight odor, but thought it would be OK for one night. We immediately went out with our bikes and biked until sundown, had a couple of drinks and by time we went to bed, the office was closed with no phone number anywhere. No one answers the phone number on the website.
When we pulled the blankets back, the smell was overwhelming---it was CAT URINE! It was so bad, we slept in our car in front of the room. The sheets were threadbare!
In the morning, no one was there or answered the phone for us to complain.
When I called Visa, they told me I was charged twice. I told them that I don't want to even pay once after sleeping in my car!
DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT STAYING HERE, EVEN THOUGH IT LOOKS NICE FROM THE STREET!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seapaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Great find and VALUE! Hospitable attentive management. Loved having the inviting pool open until 10 at night. Quiet even though on Highway 1-- close to good food, beaches, nature preserve and shopping. Oh and a trolley as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auntsue417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.6 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.9 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
4.9 mi away
Majestic Regency
Majestic Regency
#16 of 28 in Wells
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drake's Island Resort
Drake's Island Resort
#2 of 18 in Wells
88 reviews
2.4 mi away
Belle of Maine
Belle of Maine
#20 of 28 in Wells
38 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallwood Motel

Property: Tallwood Motel
Address: 2203 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4719
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tallwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Tallwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallwood Hotel Wells
Tallwood Motel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing