We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Repeat Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from our fifth stay at the Carriage House. Bob and Sally, our hosts offer great hospitality and value. Our accommodations were spotless, the surroundings quiet and restful, the staff were attentive and friendly and once more we found the site a perfect 'jumping-off' point for exploring the southern Maine coast. Can't wait to return in 2015 .

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness facility, but the owners can offer great referrals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACanuckToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Sally and her husband were amazing hosts. They made our entire wedding weekend stay perfect, accommodating a large group, and taking everything we asked for in stride and with a smile. Could not have asked for better hosts, they repeatedly went out of their way to create an amazing experience for us.

Room Tip: The suites above the office are beautiful but the motel rooms are clean and well cared for as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wells is just down the street from charming Kennebunkport, but much more reasonable rates! This is a great little place to stay--we had a suite which had a cooking area and small fridge in the room. We were only there a couple of nights so didn't cook much, but we could have.

Sally was great--couldn't have been more helpful or knowledgeable about the area. She's exactly the kind of person who should be running a place like this. Never made us feel that we were taking up too much of her time with questions about the area.

There is a lot to do in and around Wells--lovely beaches, antique shops, whale watches, birding and nature walks.

People who need a chocolate on the pillow every night in an ultra-luxurious room (and don't mind paying premium prices) may want to stay someplace else. But if you like a very clean, comfortable, quiet room; friendly and knowledgeable hosts; and a great location--all for a very good price--then call the Carriage House. They'll take great care of you. I hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alisonv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Sometimes you stay in a Mom & Pop hotel and it reminds you why you prefer the predictability of a chain hotel. The experience here is just the opposite. If all small local motels were like this one, the chains would have to figure out how to hire staff that actually cares, rather than pretending they care.

Pros:
Immaculate rooms.
Well-maintained bathrooms, including relatively modern plumbing and countertops.
Second sink and counter area in main room (also updated and immaculate).
Unlike many older motels, the A/C doesn't make strange noises, and the fan can be set to run continuously to mask noise.

Cons:
I didn't find it an issue, but some might find the mattresses too thin.
Noise transmission through floor and walls is relatively high.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clint F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Carriage House Motel over the 4th of July weekend for a family wedding, and had a great stay. Sally was very kind and accommodating to our needs.

Check In was quick and simple - gave our names, got our room keys and to the room we went.

Room was average: we had a double room with a small kitchenette area. This was your standard room, nothing fancy, just a nice clean comfortable room.

Staff/stay: Everyone we encountered here was wonderful and friendly. Some of the family used the pool, which was nice.

Location: was great to everything we needed in the area, beach was a short drive away, restaurants close by, we did not need anything more.

Thank you to the Carriage House staff, we had a great stay and when we are in the area again, we will be staying here :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CARETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

When we travel we hardly ever make reservations. We chanced apon the Carriage House and it was well worth the stay. Owners very friendly and welomed us like old friends. Got a room for $86 and really didn't exspect much... definately suprised with a large room queen, sofa and kitchette. Nice beautifully maintained, peaceful property Local info in room was second to none.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelStG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a family reunion of sorts and found the Carriage House online. This is a great place to stay in Wells. The location is perfect as we were only about a 10 minute drive from everything we wanted to see and do while we were in Maine. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. My family really enjoyed using the pool and hot tub area and there are grills and picnic tables on site so we had a nice BBQ one night of our stay. The owners, Sally and Bob, are incredibly friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay so much that we began planning our return trip before we had even checked out!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
3.2 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 29 in Wells
369 reviews
5.9 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Garrison
The Garrison
#12 of 29 in Wells
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
2.4 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#11 of 29 in Wells
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

Address: 1404 Post Rd, P.O. Box 988, Wells, ME 04090-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: $78 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Wells
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing