We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Value & Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Girlfriend get away to Boston and the Maine coast brought us to Wells. My friend is always on a budget for our annual trips, so we picked this lodging facility. The value cannot be beat. Sally and Bob were wonderful hosts with great information on restaurants, getting around, etc. The location was great as it is so close to beaches and quaint little towns along the coast. We were there for four nights and every night was peaceful and quiet. We stayed in cottage #3 which was very clean. The only complaint I would have is that there were no mattress pads on the beds, so you could feel the mattress below and the bathroom was a bit difficult to maneuver around due to where the vanity and towel racks were located. Would definately stay again but might pick one of the motel rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RochelleAndBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Found Sally and Bob's Carriage House Motel on the internet and was very pleased with my experience there. I stayed in a two bedroom 1 1/2 bath cottage with a HUGE backyard and cooking grill with a picnic table. the beds were perfect for me (firm) and the stay was very easy going. everyone left you alone but were there for you if you needed something. This is a relaxed property and is great for someone who just wants a mini home to 'chill' in on vacation. if you want a comfortable,clean friendly place that's located in the heart of town and very near the beaches this is the place for you. I would go back every time I visit Maine. it was perfect for me and my friends. -kurt wieting NYC

Room Tip: I picked cottage 8. there were three of us. two twin beds and a big bed in a master bedroom. living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was driving home after a week in the Maine woods when I happened on this lovely place. Innkeepers Bob and Sally were terrific, and the room was outstanding: immaculate and beautifully decorated. I swam laps in the pool, and followed Bob's advice and walked to Wells Beach for exercise. Don't pass it up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notmdnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Been coming to Maine for 50 years and this was our first try at the Carriage House. I didnt think family owned motels like this existed anymore. The place is a throw back to what motels in Maine used to be, a strip of rooms with a few cabins, a nice clean pool, basketball court and shuffle board for the kids, a nice little hot tub, on site laundry.

The big plus? It is QUIET. Second big plus? The rooms and service were perfect and spotless. If you want a nice, quiet place that is not over crowded and cost you an arm and a leg, this is the place.

The owners live on site and are extremely nice and helpful. They always have a smile and a hello for you when they see you. The girls doing housekeeping are great.

If you want a high end resort with the associated costs, this is not the place. Think.....casual, relaxed, QUIET.....

We are already booking a cabin for a year from now, thats how much the Carriage House impressed us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent two nights at the Carriage House, using Wells as a stopping point on our way further up the Maine coast, and as a base for exploring the highlights of this region. We were booked into the main house of this property - a second floor room that was clean and very comfortable. The innkeepers, Bob and Sally, we welcoming and helpful - even though Bob roots for the B' Sox! Take his suggestion for breakfast near the golf course and you won't be disappointed. Overall a ver nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Carriage House Motel. Rooms were clean, kids enjoyed the heated pool and location was perfect. Bob and Sally were very welcoming and the next time I visit Maine I know exactly where we'll be staying. Bob recommended Mike's Clam Shack and The Steak House both within 5 minutes from the motel and both restaurants were excellent. Thanks again Bob and Sally for making our stay in Maine a pleasant one.

Patrick

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently spent a night at this lovely spot in Wells. Tripped over it while driving up Route 1, and were warmly welcomed by Sally and Bob. Had a comfortable, clean room with a well-equipped kitchen unit - well-looked after grounds - nice pool and hot tub. Very reasonable rental and we had a lovely quiet night. Wished we had been staying longer - and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
2.8 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
3.3 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#10 of 28 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

Property: Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Address: 1404 Post Road, P.O. Box 988, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Wells
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing