We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passing through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Andover, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Passing through”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent two nights at the Carriage House, using Wells as a stopping point on our way further up the Maine coast, and as a base for exploring the highlights of this region. We were booked into the main house of this property - a second floor room that was clean and very comfortable. The innkeepers, Bob and Sally, we welcoming and helpful - even though Bob roots for the B' Sox! Take his suggestion for breakfast near the golf course and you won't be disappointed. Overall a ver nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Carriage House Motel. Rooms were clean, kids enjoyed the heated pool and location was perfect. Bob and Sally were very welcoming and the next time I visit Maine I know exactly where we'll be staying. Bob recommended Mike's Clam Shack and The Steak House both within 5 minutes from the motel and both restaurants were excellent. Thanks again Bob and Sally for making our stay in Maine a pleasant one.

Patrick

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently spent a night at this lovely spot in Wells. Tripped over it while driving up Route 1, and were warmly welcomed by Sally and Bob. Had a comfortable, clean room with a well-equipped kitchen unit - well-looked after grounds - nice pool and hot tub. Very reasonable rental and we had a lovely quiet night. Wished we had been staying longer - and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracey, VA
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Very clean, but dated. Well equipped for a week's stay, but we only stayed one night. Great location; felt very welcome at check-in. Would go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braceytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Imagine a beautiful room with a queen-sized bed, pretty chintz convertible queen sized sofa bed and lovely floral and wall print accents...this is what we received at the Carriage House during our September, 2011 stay....and wait the price is right at only $79.00 per night!!! Amazing...right on Rt. 1 and convenient to all restaurants, markets, gas stations, etc. Only about a mile off the ocean. Added to all the creature comforts our room also had a wood table with 4 chairs, draw curtains, a very bright and clean bathroom as well as a cooktop oven, fridge and full utensils, dishes, kitchen clothes...no stairs to climb; motels and rooms are scattered about property...hot tub and pool kept clean and heated nicely. Highly recommend the Carriage House Motel Cottages and Suites....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marTroy_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

very clean,affordable ,good family place- only drawback is mattresses. They need to be updated,
it was sort of like sleeping on a slab of concrete.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank charlene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was our second year at Carriage House for a family vacation week, and we loved it! Quaint and immaculate cottages, each had a personality - housekeeping staff was friendly, and Sally (innkeeper) was always seen running between guest rooms attending to everyone's needs. Nice pool, small playground, gas grills and picnic tables. Trolleys stop in front of the inn, to take you to Kennebunk shops, Wells beach, and local shopping center. We highly recommend Carriage House! Vicki from PA

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vhimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriageHouseWells, Owner at Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Carriage House.

We enjoy having you and your family here, watching you all have such a wonderful time together.

Hope you have a great year and we look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
2.8 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
801 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
2.4 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#15 of 28 in Wells
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

Property: Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Address: 1404 Post Rd, P.O. Box 988, Wells, ME 04090-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Wells
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing