We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Passing through” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Save
You added Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Passing through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent two nights at the Carriage House, using Wells as a stopping point on our way further up the Maine coast, and as a base for exploring the highlights of this region. We were booked into the main house of this property - a second floor room that was clean and very comfortable. The innkeepers, Bob and Sally, we welcoming and helpful - even though Bob roots for the B' Sox! Take his suggestion for breakfast near the golf course and you won't be disappointed. Overall a ver nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Carriage House Motel. Rooms were clean, kids enjoyed the heated pool and location was perfect. Bob and Sally were very welcoming and the next time I visit Maine I know exactly where we'll be staying. Bob recommended Mike's Clam Shack and The Steak House both within 5 minutes from the motel and both restaurants were excellent. Thanks again Bob and Sally for making our stay in Maine a pleasant one.

Patrick

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently spent a night at this lovely spot in Wells. Tripped over it while driving up Route 1, and were warmly welcomed by Sally and Bob. Had a comfortable, clean room with a well-equipped kitchen unit - well-looked after grounds - nice pool and hot tub. Very reasonable rental and we had a lovely quiet night. Wished we had been staying longer - and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracey, VA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Very clean, but dated. Well equipped for a week's stay, but we only stayed one night. Great location; felt very welcome at check-in. Would go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank braceytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Imagine a beautiful room with a queen-sized bed, pretty chintz convertible queen sized sofa bed and lovely floral and wall print accents...this is what we received at the Carriage House during our September, 2011 stay....and wait the price is right at only $79.00 per night!!! Amazing...right on Rt. 1 and convenient to all restaurants, markets, gas stations, etc. Only about a mile off the ocean. Added to all the creature comforts our room also had a wood table with 4 chairs, draw curtains, a very bright and clean bathroom as well as a cooktop oven, fridge and full utensils, dishes, kitchen clothes...no stairs to climb; motels and rooms are scattered about property...hot tub and pool kept clean and heated nicely. Highly recommend the Carriage House Motel Cottages and Suites....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marTroy_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

very clean,affordable ,good family place- only drawback is mattresses. They need to be updated,
it was sort of like sleeping on a slab of concrete.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank charlene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was our second year at Carriage House for a family vacation week, and we loved it! Quaint and immaculate cottages, each had a personality - housekeeping staff was friendly, and Sally (innkeeper) was always seen running between guest rooms attending to everyone's needs. Nice pool, small playground, gas grills and picnic tables. Trolleys stop in front of the inn, to take you to Kennebunk shops, Wells beach, and local shopping center. We highly recommend Carriage House! Vicki from PA

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vhimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriageHouseWells, Owner at Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Carriage House.

We enjoy having you and your family here, watching you all have such a wonderful time together.

Hope you have a great year and we look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#2 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.8 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

Property: Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Address: 1404 Post Rd, P.O. Box 988, Wells, ME 04090-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Wells
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing