We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very clean, well maintained property with very personable owners who seem to be truly interested in their lodgers receiving value for their money. Our room was basic but had everything necessary to make our stay enjoyable. The bed and pillows were good as were the linens. The bathroom was dated but in excellent repair. My only complaint is that our room had a stall shower that was so small that it was impossible to get out of the shower spray to soap up but that was a minor inconvenience.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

What a nice review. Thank you so much for noticing so much of our property. Some of the rooms do have smaller showers (this is an area we are looking to improve). Hopefully there will be some pleasant surprises in the near future for return guests in our king or queen rooms in the front motel. Hope to see you next year! Kind Regards, John & Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 244 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

A truly wonderful place! Planned to stay only for one night but extended it for 2 nights due to the great place, atmosphere, location, and people. Upon check-in Cynthia was very helpful and provided lots of information as to places to go, see, and eat. They have REAL non-smoking rooms (not like some motels that just cover up the smell). The rooms, bathroom, and towels very clean and in good condition. The husband/wife own this place and take great care of it. This was the best place I have stayed on my trip and will come back here the next time I am in the area. Great price, place, and location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

MichaelA ~ I'm glad that you waited to post your review. Your review makes me feel good because I know you have other locations to compare us to. So, thank you for taking the time and for your kindness. We have been working hard these past few weeks, and I have fallen somewhat behind on my responses to guest reviews. It is a blessing to read such positive feedback from our guests...hard work does pay off :-) We try to do right by all our guests and to get to know them while they are here. A few come and go quietly and others we get to know a little bit. Glad we got to chat when you were here and that you enjoyed your stay. John & Cynthia'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Originally booked for two nights but ended up staying an extra night as felt so comfortable here.

The room we stayed in had two double beds, table with two chairs , microwave, fridge, free wifi, TV and clean and tidy bathroom.

The owners couldn't be more helpful giving us maps and recommendations. The only problem we had was the fact we were using public transport and this stops in wells at the beginning of September but we soon got round that by hiring bikes at the shop opposite for two days. we managed to see both local towns and everywhere we went had bike racks. There is a supermarket very close and also a pizza and pasta restaurant opposite. Honestly can't fault this place, a brilliant stay :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank westhamutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Originally booked for two nights but ended up staying an extra night as felt so comfortable here.

The room we stayed in had two double beds, table with two chairs , microwave, fridge, free wifi, TV and clean and tidy bathroom.

The owners couldn't be more helpful giving us maps and recommendations. The only problem we had was the fact we were using public transport and this stops in wells at the beginning of September but we soon got round that by hiring bikes at the shop opposite for two days. we managed to see both local towns and everywhere we went had bike racks. There is a supermarket very close and also a pizza and pasta restaurant opposite. Honestly can't fault this place, a brilliant stay :)

There is nothing more I can 'add' to your reivew - you've hit every 'nail' on the head. We enjoyed meeting you both and did see you riding those bikes around town! Not only did you get to see the beauty of Wells and the surrounding areas but you also got some good exercise while you were at it. That just means you can eat more delicious, local food while you are here! Happy travels, as I know they are continuing! Warmest wishes ~ John & Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and were pleased with our choice. Although in need of modernisation our cottage was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable and for the price it was well worth the money. Cynthia couldn't do enough for us and gave us plenty of tips on where to visit and where to eat. Highly recommended and we hope Cynthia enjoyed the English tea we left for her!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Over the course of your stay we got to know each other pretty well. You know I DO LOVE TEA. Thank you for remembering that and for leaving me some robust English tea! I appreciate when guests notice the cleanliness. Our floors are all hand-washed / sanitized upon new guest arrival. Glad you ventured out and about to see the beauty which Wells, Maine has to offer! Thank you again for your kind review. Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Not the fanciest place but clean and comfortable we got a good night sleep for a reasonable amount of money and I was satisfied
Had a nice chat with the owners at check in and they were very pleasant and interested in our comfort
It is a good location and I would not hesitate to go back.
I did stay in the newer 2 story building in the back and not in the cottages at the road side and can not comment on them

Room Tip: try the rooms in the back building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

I appreciate your direct, and balanced approach in your review. We try ourselves to balance the value for the traveler's dollar with what we have to offer. We are a solid choice for staying in Wells, Maine and hope to see you next year! ~John & Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Fantastic staff, really could not go out of their way to help me with an issue I had with my car park at the next location, printing things for me and just being very warm, friendly and accomodating! I would recommend highly.

It is a motel, so walls are a bit thin, but room was very clean and well looked after. Starting to maybe get a little dated, but handy location for exploring, would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

I hope things worked out well for you on the next leg of your travels. It is always a pleasure to assist a guest when they have a specific need, so no worries there. The one positive side to online reviews is that it helps owners (especially new owners, like us) to isolate the most important aspects a guest looks for when travelling. Like many things in life, it is a work in progress. We hope to begin ''freshing up' certain areas, to open next spring with a little bit of something new. :-) Thanks again. Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed just one night but the staff was very friendly and suggested a visit to the Wells Reserve which was close by. Rooms were clean and the hotel was very quiet. They have a nice place behind the hotel with barbeque grills it you are staying longer. They have coffee and tea in the morning for guests and fast food (McDonald's) is just down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

The Wells Reserve is certainly a beautiful place to spend a few relaxing hours. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future guests. We hope if you are in the area again that you will consider staying with us again. Take care, Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.2 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#6 of 29 in Wells
445 reviews
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
907 reviews
2 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#5 of 29 in Wells
377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast Village Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Address: 876 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4106
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range: $102 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coast Village Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 3.5 acres of beautifully landscaped property, The Coast Village Inn & Cottages is located in the quaint seaside town of Wells, Maine. A short trolley ride from Wells Beach, we offer a range of accommodations including guest rooms, vacation suites and private cottages. Our beautiful gardens feature a zero entry outdoor pool as well as a picnic and grilling area; the perfect place to gather and relax with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Coast Village Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Hotel Wells
The Coast Village Inn And Cottages
The Coast Village Hotel
The Coast Village Motel
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing