We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Perfect for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Great Stay - Perfect for us!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend end of August and had a great time. Rooms are a little older but very clean. Staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome. Grounds and pool were much nicer than expected for price range, very tranquil and relaxing for being that close to route 1. We will be making this our yearly place for our annual August trip. The place had a fun, relaxing vibe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Stayed for a long weekend end of August and had a great time. Rooms are a little older but very clean. Staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome. Grounds and pool were much nicer than expected for price range, very tranquil and relaxing for being that close to route 1. We will be making this our yearly place for our annual August trip. The place had a fun, relaxing vibe.

Thank you for taking the time to post your opinion about your stay with us here at the Coast Village Inn. We are a older property and it is always a 'work in progress'. There is the upside to the property as you mention in that the back of the property faces the woods and is very tranquil. We hope when you return to Wells, that you will choose once again to stay with us. Kind Regards, Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    72
    28
    15
    3
See reviews for
81
91
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Covington, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in an overnight cottage. It was a charming little cottage and we really enjoyed it. The owners were very friendly and helpful. It was our first time staying in Wells and it definitely will not be our last time. The overnight cottage is perfect for the price. Very clean and charming. I loved the screened porch. We will definitely stay again. Next time we want to try a suite or larger cottage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that you found the cottage to be a perfect fit for your vacation needs. We do offer many other choices for travelers (now that you have been here to see the options). It's nice to know what to expect for future travel. Hope to see you next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We combined a few standard motel rooms with the large apartment and it worked perfect for a family get together. Grounds and pool were clean. Apartment was clean but not all spaces were checked for things left behind by previous tenants - we were early so they were a bit rushed. Convenient to everything. We had a great stay! One heads up - the waterfall nearby isn't really a "trip" or even "hike", just a small view of a stream like waterfall.

Room Tip: If you can afford the suites, I highly recomment them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We have many families who choose to stay with us for exactly the reasons you mention. Blending rooms and suites, is a perfect way to please everyone. I'm glad your family enjoyed their stay and the use of the pool and grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable and the owner was very kind when we asked him for help for a problem in our room.
On the other side of the road there's a pizza/pasta restaurant and a supermarket.
The Motel is on the main street, in 5 minutes by car you reach dozen of restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spritzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We strive for everything to go well all of the time but also know that reality kicks in every now and then. We're happy to assist when a guest has a need. Glad we could help you out. Thank you for sharing your opinion. We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Although we didn't have time to check out the entire property, my 3 friends and I took two rooms at the hotel for 3 nights. The place was clean, comfortable and easy to find, but the most outstanding asset to our stay was the wonderful reception and care we got from the owners. They were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful in every way. None of us would hesitate to go back should the occasion arrive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claymatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We do care and are here for every one of our guests should they have a need. I appreciate you recognizing that aspect of our business. I hope to see you soon (or when Clay is back in town?) Take care, Cynthia


,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good time. Treated well by the owners. It's a family place. Nice pool. Has a grill for use with picnic tables etc. Trolly stops right out front. Can walk across the street to a good pizza place. You can walk a couple of blocks to a mini golf course, McD's Subway. Not far from the grocery store.

You can bike to the beach. Or walk the mile. Lots of people do that.

The rooms are a bit older, but clean and well kept for an older building.

Someone wrote about overpriced. Well then go to the Hampton Inn next door and pay close to 3x as much for a place to sleep. Have stayed here many times and will again. Yes, the older building has some slanted flooring, so what. The newer building in the back is more modern and more up to date.

We'll be back next year and look to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
I have to say, your review brought me to tears (in a good way). We do our best to make all our guests stay pleasurable.

I couldn't have dreamed such kindness would come my way! Thank you for sharing your experience. I look forward to seeing you again next year! Kindest Regards, Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARRIE
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My friends and I needed a one-night stand (a hotel!) near the Ogunquit Playhouse for a quick trip in and out to see Joseph at the OP. I chose the Coast Village from reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were pleased with our brief stay. The owners were very pleasant and accomodating; the hotel is older (like most in the area, from my understanding) but it was clean and the beds were comfortable. We stayed in one of the rooms behind the main building, up the hill. Coffee etc was offered in the "lobby" (ie, the front porch of the main building) in the morning, and the grounds are absolutely beautiful...there's a nice pool, which we did not have time to use, unfortunately. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room up the hill, which was quiet and very close to the pool and grounds.I liked the locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
What an wonderful show Joseph was! I'm glad you had a chance to see it and that you chose to stay with us here at the Coast Village Inn. Thank you for sharing details of your stay. Hope to see you again soon! Buddy Holly will be playing soon at the Ogunquit Playhouse and we offer a discount on show tickets. Keep us in mind and thank you again! Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.1 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#13 of 28 in Wells
152 reviews
1.9 mi away
Majestic Regency
Majestic Regency
#16 of 28 in Wells
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast Village Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Property: The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Address: 876 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4106
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coast Village Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 3.5 acres of beautifully landscaped property, The Coast Village Inn & Cottages is located in the quaint seaside town of Wells, Maine. A short trolley ride from Wells Beach, we offer a range of accommodations including guest rooms, vacation suites and private cottages. Our beautiful gardens feature a zero entry outdoor pool as well as a picnic and grilling area; the perfect place to gather and relax with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Coast Village Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Village Inn And Cottages
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Hotel Wells
The Coast Village Hotel
The Coast Village Motel
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing