We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Salem
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed one night in one of the rooms this past weekend. The price? INCREDIBLE! The room was very clean, and not at all cramped (which I expected because of the price). Check in was pleasant and easy, and the location was great for us (we wanted to be an easy drive from Ogunquit). Coffee in the lobby was fresh and hot at 6:30 am, and was half way decent. And the WiFi signal was strong. Grounds were pretty, and well maintained.

The only negative? The bathroom. It really could use an update. The sink was 70's pink. No regulator on the shower so water temps were inconsistent, and the spray was one of those 70's mists as well. The toilet stuck when I flushed (more than once) and I had to open the tank to jiggle it back into working order. I'd still stay here again, because of the rates and cleanliness, but I do hope a little modernization is in the plans for the bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    59
    26
    13
    3
See reviews for
73
79
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here after reading the good revues. We were on a very tight budget so we were a little nervous at the price.. It seemed too low for what they offered and the location. They are just a mile or so from the beach and there is a Hannaford supermarket just across the Post Rd.
The room we first stayed in was in the front building but it wasn’t like it was right on the road.. you don’t really hear the traffic going by unless the window is open and even then it wasn’t bad. The room was Bigger than we feared, clean and has a large mini fridge and microwave. We decided to stay an extra day but that room was booked so they set us up in another room for the extra night.. this room was bigger in the back building and it was also very clean.. They can easily charge 50% more for the rooms and still be good value!
The owners are so nice and helpful and the staff was equally nice and helpful.
We have stayed in some very expensive (>$300) places in the past and yes they have nicer drapes and furniture, but if you need a super nice place to sleep this is the place to stay.
We will be coming back next year and if the reservation link let us book the room we would do it today..

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages for 5 nights while we were on our honeymoon in September. We originally booked one on the overnight cottages due to budget restrictions on our part. When we arrived the management at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages graciously decided to upgrade us to cottage 1 :) This cottage was substantially larger then the one we booked. The Coast Village Inn & Cottages is in a great location and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As for the complaints I've read about smoking...seriously people its not that far of a walk. Great place to stay for a fantastic price :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mypawco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and i always have a great time at the coast village inn. We have stayed in all the suites and stayed in a cottage this time. The cottage was fantastic!!! Its like having your own little house. The only thing that was needed is the replacement of the other bed in the cottage, but im sure that will be done by next season. You folks are great your hard work always shines through.

Room Tip: get a suite or cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makiko43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayes here often. That alone should tell you how we feel about this place. Always have had a great time swimming in the solar heated pool after a day at the beach. We have met many fine and delightful guests at the pool.

The rooms are always neat and clean, and the showers are always hot. Honestly, however, the rooms could use some updating. Coffee is available each morning.

The management is so friendly which makes our stays that much more enjoyable, Jesse and Marina can't do enough to make us happy. For us, it is like coming home.

The owners (Megan and Taylor Duffy) knew what they were doing when thet hired these two girls.

We would definately recommend the Coast Village Inn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoughtonsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here with kids over Labory Day weekend. I meant to write a review a few weeks ago but haven't found time. It's always funny reading peoples reviews when you've had a nice experience. This is cottage accomadations in Wells, MAINE people not the Four Seasons, NYC!!! This spot is clean, neat, updated- the pool is waaaaaaaay better than I thought it would be with a nice bbq set up and lots of space for kids to run around. It's funny when the hotel people are so clear about smoking and their guests still try to 'sneak'- honestly- this country doesn't allow smoking so you can move to Europe or quit- either way stop being an idiot.
This spot is a terriffic vaue. We slept comfortably. My kids were happy and close to the beach. We will stay here again next year and bring friends. Oh- the cabin we stayed in was totally hooked up with new everything, cable and a flat screen TV!- Love it.

Room Tip: The newer cabins are my fav.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAmo1132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I feel a need to address some of the issues in recent reviews.

My husband & I have stayed in the front motel rooms a couple times in the past. Older units but neat, bright & tidy. We'd stay again.

This Fall we decided to try one of the overnight cottages. We knew there'd be no heat in any of them and no air-conditioning in the smaller ones. It's stated very clearly on the website.

There was confusion with our reservation (long story) but Jessica the manager was quick to offer an upgrade to a two bedroom cottage that was available.

The cottages are older cabin-like accomodations. Don't expect a motel or hotel room and you won't be dissapointed.

The pool is fabulous!! The location very convenient. The price is great for the area.

BTW, I researched the Maine smoking laws myself.

Chapter 249: RULES RELATING TO SMOKING IN PUBLIC PLACES: B. “Designated smoking area” means an outdoor area where smoking is permitted, which must be at least 20 feet from windows, entryways, vents, doorways or other openings and must be designed to prevent smoke escaping from the designated smoking area into an enclosed area of a workplace or public place or other areas where smoking is prohibited.

Maybe we'll try one of the small overnight cottages next Spring or Fall!!!

A. Francisco

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AF824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#2 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#15 of 28 in Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belle of Maine
Belle of Maine
#20 of 28 in Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast Village Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Property: The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Address: 876 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4106
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coast Village Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 3.5 acres of beautifully landscaped property, The Coast Village Inn & Cottages is located in the quaint seaside town of Wells, Maine. A short trolley ride from Wells Beach, we offer a range of accommodations including guest rooms, vacation suites and private cottages. Our beautiful gardens feature a zero entry outdoor pool as well as a picnic and grilling area; the perfect place to gather and relax with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Coast Village Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Village Inn And Cottages
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Hotel Wells
The Coast Village Hotel
The Coast Village Motel
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing