We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a little TLC, but they're working on it and are very friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs a little TLC, but they're working on it and are very friendly.”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were a large party and some of us were in the front hotel and some in a cottage. The staff was very friendly and while the WiFi and internet were not working when we checked in, the person at the front desk allowed us to check in and worry about the financial part later. While the cottage was beautiful and obviously just redone, the hotel rooms needed a little TLC. From what we were told, they are slowly redoing the whole property and from what we saw of the cottage, it looks like they're going to do a great job. The water pressure was amazing in the shower and the pool was really a great pool. It's very convenient to shopping, as you can literally walk to the grocerey store, the pharmacy, a McDonald's and a myriad of other businesses.

My only complaints were the lobby is not open before 9am and therefore coffee and ice are not available when you might want them, and there was a musty odor in our room when we arrived. Also, the shower stalls in the front hotel rooms are small and a bit outdated, but still very servicable. I didn't really mind any of it since it's a coastal community and musty comes with being near the ocean and if I wanted coffee that badly there was a McDonald's and Dunkin Donuts very nearby and able to provide coffee at all manner of hours.

Overall, we would stay here again - it's a great value, great location, comfortable beds and very accomodating and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetjd, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
The lobby area is open at 8 am for coffee and ice. We just don't turn on the open sign, because the actual office part does not open until 9 am. She may not have been told this and we do apologize for that. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    66
    26
    14
    3
See reviews for
75
87
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Day 1 No working fridge
Day 2 new fridge delivered to cottage around 7 pm
My husband who is an electrician sees that there is 60 amps powering 3 cottages..it appears they had some sort of surge or so we were infomed prior to our check in that must have blown the fridge ???
day 2 after fridge is delivered..Go to use microwave..it too is blown...advised manager Terry. They did NOT replace that our entire stay.
2 days of eating out not in budget..Credited $77.04 by owner.
Day 3 No hot water early evening, water heater had to be re-set. had to wait about an hour & water was luke warm at best.
Day 4 NO HOT water again..OFFICE closed til 9am, nobody to contact...why no hot water??? NO OIL ..they ran out ...entire facility has no hot water until approx 11am
Day 5 SURPRISE !! NO HOT WATER again in am.. An elderly couple in the next cottage we beside themselves as well..poor guy had headache from cold shower...again the water heater had to be reset after the office opened at 9am.
We asked for another credit..which HONESTLY why would we have to?? The owner should have offered one?? One would think.
Upon check out we again asked about the credit..Terry the manager stated she would again talk to the owner Taylor Duffy..she also asked us to email her.
I sent the email Friday 7/8/2011and she responded that a credit would be issued.
Monday 7/11/2011 I email again as NO CREDIT has been issued. Terry the manager who is stuck in the middle responds, (as the owner refuses to communicate) that he will NOT be issuing a credit as our dog stained the grass by peeing. ??? REALLY.4 days later he comes up w/ that??..furthermore
Terry advised us where to walk the dog..I chose NOT to walk him in the upper field as i was bitten up terribly by mosquitoes !! Cottage 2 is directing upon RT 1 so a few feet away was a sidewalk to a public area..I chose to walk our dog there to avoid more insect bites. We respected Terry's request about dog walking although NOTHING was stated in their room policy's on line when I checked yesterday. I advised Terry during our many emails & ONCE WE HAD BEEN FALSELY ACCUSED BY THE OWNER... once..our dog had peed during a bad rain storm on Wednesday night..the evening b/4 our check out. The poor manager is trying to apologize that she must have misunderstood the owner !! FAT CHANCE..in our opinion the owner has very poor business ethics. Needless to say we will not be retuning and we vacation in Wells Maine every year. Mind you...we stayed last year w/o a pet & returned this year because we could bring him and save $$$ by eating in !! It cost us more in the long run and I had to shower at the 2 days at my in-laws cottage at the beach. The manager, Terry has emailed us may apologies asked us to please come back again as she feels responsible...SHE ABSOLUTELY IS NOT !!! Thanks but no thanks..we will take our business where it will be appreciated. The owner is just looking for reasons to get out of another credit...sad but true. I'm looking into making a formal complaint. NOT even an apology from the owner ??? Very unprofessional.
The cottage was adorable, well kept and newly renovated. Great location etc..just very bad experience :(

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank KBT2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetjd, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
This person stayed in cottage 2. This cottage was completely gutted and renovated last year. Everything in there was brand new, from the floor to the ceiling. These cottages have run with the same amenities in them for over 4 years now with no problem, her electrician boyfriend's fears aside. The reason that this brand new refrigerator broke down, was because of an unforeseeable issue that occurred inside of our meter box that needed to be replaced. We lost many tv's and A/C units that day. When I was told about the fridge not working, I immediately went out in holiday traffic on a weekend, to spend another $400 on a brand new fridge for them. She was offered a smaller fridge until we were able to get the new one, and refused. I think that it is important to note that we gave this lady a 10% discount when she originally booked. Then we gave her an additional 10% discount after the fridge issue. The microwave broke when she was "heating up dog food". It is fairly obvious that she put a metal can into the microwave. We took it out and I bought a new one right away, however, I did not put it back into the unit, because at that point this woman was non stop charging into the office and trying to get as much money back as she could. She obviously couldn't afford to be on vacation at all, and probably should have stayed home. We tried up and down to satisfy her, but she was only going to be satisfied with a free vacation, which I doubt would have done the trick. She was told where to bring her dog to go to the bathroom and she was not seen in that area even one time. Her dog urinated all around the cottage and burnt holes in our grass. We do our best to remedy any problems people may have as soon as possible, but some people just are not going to be satisfied, even after the problems are solved and two discounts are given. We are always respectful to our customers, unfortunately, it can be a one way street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is the perfect inn for anyone. It was so quite. The room we had (one adult and two 14yr old girls) was great. There was a refrigerator in the room, so you could bring lunches to the beach. It was immaculate.
The pool was lovely. Great location to access any of the beaches in the area. Easy to get to from the interstate instead of going through OGT on RT 1.
Terry, the Inn keeper was amazing! If you needed anything Terry was there.
Thank you Terry,
I can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elishiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Coastal Village Inn & Cottages proved to be convenient, in easy walking distance to supermarket, movie theater complex, Wells Beach, laundromat, and Congdon's Donuts, and during the summer season via trolley to the Amtrack train station and to neighboring Ogunquit with its beaches, shops, restaurants, piano bar, and playhouse. This year is the second time we stayed at CVI&C. The first time, a few years ago, was in its motel room, and the second time in the two-bedroom cottage with kitchen. Given our tight budget, CVI&C offers much value for the dollar. We found the accommodations clean. The cottage was not fancy, but it suited our low-intensity needs, and it possessed a feeling of privacy. Service was basic and dependable, but no frills, bells, or whistles. The pool is great for those who want to relax, not for those who want to do olympic-style swimming & diving. The free Wi-fi connection to the Internet was reliable. In addition, we found manager Terri to be a super friendly, humorous, easy to-get-along person.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlesllumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The staff is very friendly and makes you feel at home. The cottage we stayed in was adorable and very clean. Loved the beautiful waterfall! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmc1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The Coast Village Inn and Cottages is a great place to stay. We stayed in the hotel room and everything was nice and clean. The staff is very friendly. We recommend it and we'll be back for sure !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatachaLafleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

A perfect weekend away for the celebration of my mother-in-law's 70th birthday was made possible only because of the wonderful staff at The Coast VIllage Inn and Cottages. We were not the easiest guests. We rented a larger cabin for my mother in law and ended up with three mini-cabins. We made and cancelled and changed reservations up until and even after some of us had checked in. All changes were accepted with a smile and the feeling that I was working with a good friend and not with someone i'd never met. We were given heaters for the cooler nights and even had a birthday cake and flowers in the cabin when we checked in. The cabins are comfortable and close enough/far enough from each other to be able to enjoy the evenings with close friends yet have complete privacy. The customer service at the Coast Village Inn and Cottages is EXCEPTIONAL and was MUCH APPRECIATED. I will never stay anywhere else in Wells and highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSGidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
773 reviews
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
406 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#8 of 28 in Wells
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#15 of 28 in Wells
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast Village Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Property: The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Address: 876 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4106
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coast Village Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 3.5 acres of beautifully landscaped property, The Coast Village Inn & Cottages is located in the quaint seaside town of Wells, Maine. A short trolley ride from Wells Beach, we offer a range of accommodations including guest rooms, vacation suites and private cottages. Our beautiful gardens feature a zero entry outdoor pool as well as a picnic and grilling area; the perfect place to gather and relax with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Coast Village Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Village Inn And Cottages
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Hotel Wells
The Coast Village Hotel
The Coast Village Motel
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing