We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. long wait.”
Review of Maine Diner

Maine Diner
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Diner, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Takeout
madison
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food. long wait.”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised. the food was very good. service was fine. wait was long (1 hr) because were trying to seat 9 people and they were very busy. All in all i would go back again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    568
    262
    82
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lobster bake just ok”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The place was super busy. We sat at the counter. Of course we drove from springfield mo to go because of diners and dives. Well we had the "famous" lobster pie, it was ok not for$30. It seemed like chunks of lobster, butter and panko baked that's it. The seafood chowder was good. Thin base. The codfish cakes not good mushy in the middle and not much flavor. I think I would have preferred a good burger over the seafood. But if you like seafood this may be the place for you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Blueberry Pancakes”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We've gone here for breakfast when in the area for years. The blueberry pancakes are huge & filling. I've also had the lobster quiche on special occasions- it's small but satisfying when eaten with a blueberry pancake.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“As the sign says...Seen on Food Network's Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

So I thought I would try it out. Yes, it was busy because of the show's advertizing but when I went in there were two four-tops and one more being cleaned. It is true that I was solo but a 15-minute wait when there were open tables is unacceptable. I don't care how good the food is but without good customer service.....I'm walking out. You decide.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank c3a3m3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe trotters
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I'm nausea ”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We're pulling out if their parking lot right now and it was disgusting lunch. The "famous" seafood chowder was uneatablely thin and lacked any flavor- the lobster was just shreds and the shrimp was the tiny kind that tasted like it came out of a can.

I can't muster up anything nice to say about the cod cakes or crab cakes either. The corn muffins were so sweet even my kids wouldn't eat them.

Nevertheless, our waitress Dawn was very nice and accommodating.

Helpful?
3 Thank Joshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maine Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing