We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Triple D classic- diners , drive ins and dives”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maine Diner

Maine Diner
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Diner, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
151 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Triple D classic- diners , drive ins and dives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to Maine Dinner today for lunch today based on the food Channel review. We both had the seafood chowder and it was great. Large chunks of lobster, shrimp, scollops and clams all at the bottom of your bowl. So with each scope you get different chunks of seafood. Maybe the best chowder I have ever had . It is always busy but you can also walk in a get the chowder to go .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    546
    245
    75
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington VT. USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Read the reviews and tried it out.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was excited to read the menu ..... some of my favorites. Started with onion rings and they were flawless ................. exactly how I like them and not too salty. I have the fried chicken breast, perfectly cooked, just too much salt. The gravy was good and potatoes were instant. My wife had the codfish cakes with mashed and dry cod needs to be refreshed for several changes of water to remove the salt ........... the cod fish cakes were so salty they were uneatable. Your onion rings will bring me back and it will be just onion rings and a drink.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonNormandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“maine diner take 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We are back for more.
This time we tried the chicken pot pie. Really good with a golden crust. The corn muffins on the side are still excellent. Big plate, so no more room for desert. Will be back again to try something else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skippounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We came here because we had seen the diner featured on "Drive-ins, Diners and Dives" which has surely made the lines longer and place more crowded, but we wanted to try it anyway as we were staying nearby. We waited 40 minutes, but got a great booth in a corner for 4, so we did not feel crowded or rushed. Our waitress was very personable and gave us super service. I had the lobster pie which was delicious, and my husband enjoyed his seafood chowder. Prices were a bit high which is to be expected with all that demand. We'd recommend this place, but come at an "off" time if there is such a thing for a shorter wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilyPeony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Great seafood chowder n cod cakes, but busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

PRO: Great seafood chowder and codfish cakes, ok breakfast, nice waitress

CON: Very busy

Our July 2014 visit to the Diners Drivins and Dives ( Triple D ) restaurant Main Diner yielded a great cup of seafood chowder, excellent seafood breakfast special, and reasonably priced breakfast. The servers were nice though busy—hopping from table to table—but did not make customers feel rushed. We liked two of the three Triple D items, seafood chowder and codfish cake. We were too full to order the third Triple D item, baked lobster.

* Seafood Chowder for $5.50 – Main Diner’s award winning seafood chowder was the best chowder we had in Maine and New Hampshire. It beat out Newicks in Dover, NH and the award winning River House in Portsmouth, NH, which was redolent with shellfish, but too sweet. Main Diner’s chowder had great flavor, and more shellfish (lobster, clams, shrimp) than fish, but could benefit by using average, instead of small, sized shrimp.

* Myles Henry Downeast Benedict for $10 is a large platter of eggs benedict over codfish cakes. The codfish cakes were superior. The dish was large and rich, making it difficult to finish in one sitting.

* The sausage, eggs, and potatoes for $8 were good for the price, but the sausage links were bland.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maine Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing