We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual Cravings....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maine Diner

Maine Diner
Ranked #6 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Diner, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Annual Cravings....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

After vacationing in Wells for 18 years, we are now spending full summers on the beach, and the Maine Diner never disappoints. For our family, breakfast is the favorite meal. "2's are wild" wins every time for the kids, but I crave the biscuits. The restaurant is run so very well. Everything SPARKLES. Don't forget to grab a bag of corn muffin mix in the cute shop next door!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    540
    241
    75
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great menu, food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Maine Diner for the first time and what a breakfast! First, the assortment of items on the menu is fantastic. Our server was very friendly and informative. I got blueberry pancakes, 2 perfectly cooked eggs, bacon and toast. Delicious. My husband had the Lobster Benedict minus the hollandaise. Superb meal! Our friends ordered the codfish cakes which are a house specialty. They loved then though I though they tasted too fishy. We will be back!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetodance418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palenville, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast in the off season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I had a very nice breakfast. The service was exceptional. I had the lobster quiche which was served with fresh fruit and a warm corn muffin. He tried the Corned Beef Hash eggs Benedict. We left full and satisfied. Very happy with this meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindy417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Fake Maine Shrimp"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Four of us had the small shrimp which they are now calling "Gulf" shrimp - we had asked for MAINE shrimp, AND THESE ARE NOT! They were rubbery and tasteless - frozen. The fried coating is heavy bread crumbs and tasted bad. The same coating was on the onion rings - NO ONE liked them either. Several people were happy with the haddock - the deserts were good. I don't know how this place can get the ratings and press it has enjoyed for years - it's not just "not good". it's VERY NOT GOOD.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank j dab J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Above average breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We came here in April, which is the off season for the beach area, and the diner was still crowded. I could see why, because the food was great, the atmosphere was fun and the service was friendly. Food was a little more expensive than some of the other diners around, but worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JG5554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Diner also viewed

 

Been to Maine Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing