We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Accomondations at Best”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nautical Mile Resort
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Reviewed December 16, 2013

If your used to spacious accommodations in a resort, you will be disappointed with this one. Facilities show there age and the lack of investment back into the property. Warped boards as hand rails, cook stoves that are ancient. Although it was clean, the decorator clearly lacks modern taste and experience in the resort industry. Rebuilt motel yes, resort probably not. If you need internet on a regular bases, it reminded me of the old dial up system that would not stay connected.

Room Tip: Unless it is a very good deal (cheap) keep looking. Kinda on the noisy side of things from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 39 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent the last week at the Nautical Mile Resort in Wells, as a timeshare exchange from a previous year. I had read all of the previous reviews and there seemed to be a lot of trouble with the word 'Resort' in their name. What is a resort? Its different for each person, but I think for most people, you expect a relatively new, well maintained, large facility with 4 or 5 star facilities. Nautical Mile is 1 or 2 of those (well maintained, large facility). So, clearly if the name was Nautical Mile Inn and Suites or something, nobody would have a problem with that. Enough of that...

So, what DOES Nautical Mile have? If you're looking for a very nice, older facility that's well run, has very friendly staff, nice (not super great) on site amenities in a great location, then this one might be for you. The 1 bedroom rooms (all we saw) are quite small, but VERY adequate for a couple. There is a small but nice kitchen area with elec stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and granite countertops, a nice sized bedroom with queen bed, a nice bathroom, a decent sized living/dining area as part of the kitchen and a 3 season porch in the back overlooking the pool and tennis courts. These are not big suites, but they do the trick and are very clean and well kept. There is a nice outdoor pool and hot tub along with several tennis courts within the middle of the U shaped building courtyard. A/C and heat worked well, and given how much time most people would spend in their room, the 'resort' is enough for most people. If you plan to spend lots of time in your room, this may not be the best choice.

The location is perfect. Right on Route 1 in Wells, next door to legendary Congdon's homemade doughnuts and within a mile or so of dozens of restaurants as well as Wells beach area. So, was it the nicest place we've ever stayed? No. It was far from the worst place that we've ever stayed before as well. Would we stay here again knowing what we know about this location? Yes. We had a lot of fun in the local area, still had more to see, and we would definitely consider staying at the Nautical Mile Resort again.

Room Tip: - The AC units in the living room and bedroom could each handle the whole suite. We alternated runn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MrWizard99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Although a bit tired and very basic as suites go (the kitchenette doubles as the dining room which doubles as the living room which doubles as a second bedroom with a fold out couch) this is a perfectly adequate place to sleep while touring south coastal Maine, especially if the price is right. Resort? I'm not so sure. There are tennis courts and a pool, although in April they are not really an issue. Again, if the price is right and your vacation is centered around touring rather than sitting by the pool or on the beach, this would be a fine choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joannecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our first clue that we had a problem was that this location was the room available during the month of Sept or October. The location was perfect for day trips, but that was the only plus. The room was so cramped we had to store our travel bags in the car. The spread on the bed had such a bad oder we put it out on the porch. House keeping did replace it. I misplaced a shoe and had to crawl under the bed to retrive.............it had been weeks since it had been cleaned. I plan on filing a complaint with our exchange company. There is no way this place should be considered for the owners of Timeshares. This should not be considered as a destination, but a hotel of last resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbp1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Nautical Mile resort is located approx 1.5 to 2 hours drive north of Boston in a town called Wells.

The resort is a horseshoe shape off the main road, with tennis courts in the middle. It has a reception that is open till 5pm each night apart from Fridays for check ins. There is also a laundry room. The accommodation is over two floors with open wooden stairs up to the first floor. We stopped in a one bed unit which was on the first floor, and it had wi-fi, a small kitchen , sofa bed, table, chairs and tv. The kitchen had cooker, toaster, microwave and dishwasher. There was a separate bedroom and a bathroom. Not recommended for more than 2 people due to the size.

The resort is near the beaches of the area and also near the nice villages of Ogunquit, and Kennebunkport. We went to the outlet malls at Kittery and at Freeport. We drove up to Brunswick to get on the train to Rockland, and we also drove down to Gloucester to go on the 7 seas whale watch where we managed to see quite a number of humpback whales, fin whales and dolphins.

There are plenty of good places to eat around the area and a large Hannafords supermarket across the road.

A nice place to be based to get to visit lots of things in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The place is well maintained and the staff is courteous and willing to help. The pool area is large and clean...the week we stayed the water was green but they worked hard at restoring it and by Thursday the green was gone. It is convenient to local restaurants, the beach and other sites

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the far right of the building..as u look at it from Congdons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eataroundwoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in unit 134 on the backside of the property (and VERY convenient to Congdon's!). The unit was very clean and well stocked. The location is so convenient to many popular destinations, restaurants and beaches. There is a Hannafords just 2 minutes down the road that was very well staffed and stocked also.
The staff at The Nautical Mile is extremely friendly.
We are hoping to return very soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JILLYFISHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.7 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
1.0 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
874 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
0.8 mi away
The Beaches Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautical Mile Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautical Mile Resort

Address: 1072 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4500
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite condominium resort just 1 "Nautical Mile" from beautiful Wells Beach, Maine. Spacious, air conditioned one or two bedroom suites with a full kitchen, dining area and scenic views of the marshlands and ocean beyond. Resort Amenities include outdoor pool, hot tub, pool deck, exercise room, grills, picnic tables and more. Free WiFi & Local and continental US Free calling. On trolley route. Open year round with many off-season specials available. Situated midway between popular Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. Enjoy nearby whale watching, lobster tours, fishing trips and shopping in the numerous antique shops, art galleries and unique boutiques. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nautical Mile Hotel Wells
Nautical Mile Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing