We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wells Amato's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wells Amato's
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Wells, Maine
1 review
“Closed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I think this was the kichen inside the Urving gas station. Loved it for years. Now its not there and u have to go to kittery! Boooo!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank airdoctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Buy local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I haven't eaten at this particular Amato's but have have eaten at many others. I can speak to the food because it is consistent and delicious at the others I have eaten at. This is a long time restaurant in Maine. The family has been in business for many decades and they have remained consistently good. They offer a good selection for sandwiches, pizzas, salads and other Italian offerings. The food is always fresh. This offers far better food than the fast food Subway's or Pizza Hut among others. This is fresh made bread and pizza dough. I support the Amato's family for great Italian "fast food" that they started many years ago. This is truly a local family restaurant. I have no affiliation to this family or business and no personal gain for the recommendation

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruthe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luv Amato's subs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My favorite, which I get every time, is the ham & cheese italian. Luv the Greek olives & sour pickles.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meghann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west rutland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I like the food, too bad it isn't available when you want it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

4 pm and no food yet available. Not everyone waits until late to eat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank itzbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
225 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Sandwiches are a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The sandwiches are great. However the pizza has gone downhill in recent months. Not sure what's wrong, but the crust has become chewy and yeasty.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Amato's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing