We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway with great off season pricing.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
West Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway with great off season pricing.”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Our weekend trip to the Lafayette was given to us by our children for our 38th anniversary. This hotel was a great place to just get away from it all and relax. Our room overlooked the ocean and the sunrise was spectacular. The long sprawling beach turned out to be a great place for a nice walk to help us unwind. Listening to the surf early in the morning as the tide came in was something everyone should experience. We have lived in New England all our lives and love the ocean, so this was a great hotel stay and I recommend it to everyone. The off season rates are terrific and there are many great restaurants open all season. Give it a try you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilot973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    116
    25
    9
    11
See reviews for
146
130
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wells
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We Really enjoyed our first stay on the Maine coast. Very relaxing and very friendly people made this trip very enjoyable. Maybe we will be back this way again. Thank you for the memories!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HennDogg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

My husband, Mother , Brother, & 3 year old daughter & I stayed in the deluxe building that slept 6. You really could not get any closer to the ocean! The room was a little outdated but very clean & we did have a flat screen tv & were able to connect to WIFI. We all enjoyed our stay very much. The pool & the jacuzzi there was also clean & very nice. If I had to choose a concern the only one would be that when you head to the beach you exit your room through a sliding glass door that you can not lock while you are down at the beach. So I guess you just have to be trusting of the people around you. All in all it is a great place & we plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessMommy306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We got a call that our original reservation had been double-booked but it did work out that this spot was available. Very cute and cozy. We love it here, been coming for over 30 years!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfam0761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Very comfortable and well appointed newly renovated room in newer section. Great beach for kids, good food and arcade within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkinSaratoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

First time visitor to Maine and it will not be the last. Lafayette is a great place. Staff was very helpful, room was very clean and big. The beach was excellent and the views from
the room were spectacular. Traveled with two teenage girls and they also loved it and of course did not want to leave and you know if there happy we are all HAPPY!
Must go to the Maine Diner it was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntMaryPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Incredibly clean, big room. The staff was very nice and helpful and the hotel gives proceeds from the gift shop and water sales to a cancer charity. Right on the beach. Our 8 year olds loved it here! Nice clean pool and lots of families. The beach is great for swimming and looking for snails and crabs. Great little restaurant on site and awesome pool. I can see why families with teens love this place too. We'll be back next year.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carmk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,028 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
420 reviews
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Property: Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing