We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is awesome”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Location is awesome”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Pros- Location is incredible.
Loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves.
Large room.
Check in friendly and quick and loaned us a cork screw.
Clean room - even saw them sweeping the steps to the beach.
Cons- This was a sisters weekend and man did they miss no coffee pot in room. You get coupons for coffee but that place wasn't open when they wanted coffee.
Thin towels
Charge $25 extra per night for a third person. Why??? They don't even change the sheets every night, so not sure what that covers except an extra set of towels.
price was a little high for the room. We've paid that much on some Caribbean beaches.
We would return, but would also check out the place next door before booking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LV2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    114
    25
    8
    10
See reviews for
140
127
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I love this place. The view is outstanding and it is so easy to get to the beach. This has been particularly great with my young daughter: no icky public bathrooms to deal with, easy of/off if she gets tired, etc. The staff is always nice. The rooms are comfortable and clean, but dated. Some of the different buildings are noisier than others, so if you want lots of quiet go to one like the Motor Inn. My mother-in-law had been staying here for decades because of the convenience and spectacular view.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatsatrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARATOGA SPRINGS,N.Y.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

My Husband and I stayed from 2/15/10 - 2/18/10 in room # 208 right on the ocean. From the time we arrived in our room, the staff couldn't be anymore helpful. We had one issue during our stay around 6:30 am and the staff took care of it less than 5 minutes. ( how is that for service?) The room we stayed in had just been redone, flat 42 inch tv, 2 queen plush beds, oversized chair that opens into a twin bed, patio chairs& table for your oceanfront deck, micro & fridge and a table to eat by the sliding glass door, and tons of storage for all your needs. They have a awesome exercise room w/ headphones & tv on each peice of equipment. The pool and the waterfall hot tub, is so relaxing. We enjoyed our stay so much, that we will be back for years to come.It's very nice to watch a winter storm come off the ocean at night and to take pictures of a sunrise off your balcony in the morning. If you want a real bang for your buck, stay off season. We payed under a $100 per. night and excellent veiws of the ocean and awestaff members. Thank you Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort from the Burton's

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WEATHER1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee
Level Contributor
361 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed one weekend in their Driftwinds building and another weekend in their Beach Front Lodge. Excellent, we were right on the beach and planning to return for another weekend in March and mid-week in April. Breakfast at the Maine Diner and dinner at the Bull and Claw were great as always.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicopeeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The service is and has always been great. They remember you when you're a regular guest. I've been going here for years, mostly in the winter or fall.
My room has always had the most perfect view of the ocean and is very clean. The hotel maids are very friendly and helpful if anything is needed.
The location is why I go. I love the ocean and I'm right there. I love nature and watching the seagulls. The waves were incredible due to the big blizzard on New Year's Day.
What I liked the best was the view, the hot tub and the pool. The owners are sweet and go out of their way to make you want to return all the time and that is the reason that I do just that.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmitchell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
212 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Booked this place late coming up to Columbus weekend when most places were only taking bookings for minimum three nights stay. Got a two night stay here for 100 dollars per night. The resort is basically a few motels close together. We were in the Oxcart building, a clean and well equipped motel room that was quiet and within 100 yards of the shore. Some of the other buildings actually overlook the beach.
The only slight criticism was that the place was a bit cold, but there was a (noisy) air conditioner that heated it up well. I reckon that this is a summer place mostly and not well insulated, hence the feeling of cold in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockyroad2dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband, infant daughter and I stayed at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort in the beginning of August. Despite the fact that it was the hotel's peak season, we were able to get an oceanfront room, with a balcony overlooking Well's Beach. The room, though a bit dated, was clean and comfortable, with plenty of room for my daughter's Pack and Play.
The location of this hotel can't be beat. It was wonderful to watch both sun and moon rise from our balcony or just to sit outside and watch the action on the beach. It was also quite a treat to literally be able to walk out of our room and be at the beach, especially when carrying all of the infant paraphenalia.
After driving around the Wells/Ogunquit area, my husband and I realized just how wise our choice to stay at Lafayette's was. At most hotels in this area, one must walk/bike/or bus to the beach. We were already there!
I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
10.4 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Property: Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing