We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lafayette was great location location location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Let me start by telling you that they are updating their rooms. we stayed in one of the updated rooms. We stayed in the Jacuzzi suite. This room was great. they dont tell you that there is a flat screen tv over the fireplace oh and one in the bathroom too and a phone next to the toilet. granite countertops, shower with two shower heads and the best surprise,. there is a whole second bedroom with a tv and a trundle. The jacuzzi was surrounded with marble or granite type of tile as was the shower. The mattress was memory foam with expensive sheets and a goose down comforter. The massage chair was great too. Totally clean and nice. Right on the ocean. Great price. Let the pictures speak for themselves. I cannot speak for the un updated rooms but this room was way more than we expected. We never even got to the indoor heated pool and public jacuzzi didnt have time. Oh and the exercise room was small but had very nice equipment. These sunrise pics are when i ran outside in my slippers and robe at 6 in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyD-RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 376 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2008

We just left yesterday, and are already looking forward to our next visit. If you are planning a family vacation or a weekend getaway, Lafayette's is the perfect location. The beach is gorgeous, the properties clean and comfortable, and the staff caring and helpful. You CAN'T get any closer to the ocean unless you rent a boat! Lafayette's offers all the comforts of home with a million dollar view.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KathyGlensFalls_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We just call every year directly to check on availability and book our stay. We have been back every year for about 8 years now in the FALL and really look forward to our stay all year long. One long weekend a year in Maine during the cool weather with thinning crowds, no kids, and no worries. We just wander from LL Bean to one antique store or tag sale after another.

Billy's and the Maine Dinner always a hit and the shops in Kittery are so close.

Always a good time. We enjoy the sunrise right from our beds every morning and even when weather doesn't give us a beautiful sunrise the skies and the waters are also neat over the water during the storms.

Great place to go if you love a walk on the beach or just watching the beach and surf from your balcony or room.

Enjoy the indoor huge hottub and pool and adults only hours to get those long-drive kinks out and get the chill of the day out before heading into bed.

Worth coming back again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FallHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

What a wonderful spot...prime location right on Wells Beach...I was aware that the hotel had just renovated many rooms and one was a two room suite (which I stayed in). It came complete with a flat screen tv, fire place, massage chair, in room jacuzzi, double sink and walk in double shower. The room was spotless! There is also an indoor pool and large hot tub with a waterfall. I will definately be back and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BWMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

we have been coming to lafayette's for over 30 years now, we love it, being right on the ocean. even if you have a rainy day, you can still sit and watch the ocean from your room...its great...the help is also the best...

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank adamsmassberkshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We have been to this motel for years now. You can not be any closer to the ocean. the rooms are emaculate. The motel is not new, but there is nothing wrong with the rooms. The staff is always very friendly. I see us continuing to go back for years to come.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hotelmasterNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

I can honestly not say enough about what a great vacation and what a great property this is. In June we decided we wanted to go away for the 4th of July weekend. I found the Lafayette online but I called them directly. I wanted an oceanfront room! I was so pleasantly surprised when I called and the lady on the phone was soooo very nice AND they had an oceanfront room open for the time period I wanted. It was in their newly renovated bldg "The Wells Motor Inn". She had a King room and 2 Qns. We took the 2 Qns which was on the second floor. The room was decorated beautifully in blues and greens, the bathroom was a nice yellow with granite shower. The sink was outside the bathroom, which was a bit small of an area to get ready. but that is my only complaint. We slept every night with the sliding doors open to hear the waves crashing on the rocks and wall. There's their restaurant right behind our bldg. You can get ur breakfast to go and eat on the beach. Our friends ended up booking a room last minute too and they stayed in the main bldg the LedgeView, Their room was more spacious, but dated. Old pine beds and the dark paneling walls. But I felt that was even worth what they paid. The High tide comes in late morning. Check the front desk. What we did was get on the beach at 8amish...and when the tide came up to our chairs we moved them back only once. The next time the tide came up to our chairs was around noon and we just packed it in, got dressed, went shopping or to Ogunquit to walk the Marginal Walkway. Then came back around 3 and went back on the beach. The tide will come in up to the wall. There will be NO beach left. But I was ok with that. Not a big sun worshiper anyway. There are so many restaurants to have a good decent meal at. OMG....I think I gained 10lbs that weekend. We watched Kennebunkport's fireworks from our hotel. It was just a great relaxing vacation for our family and I would definately go back! The area it's self is beautiful too.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank IRISHGIRL767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
885 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#6 of 29 in Wells
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
3.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range: $49 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing