We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We like to stay at the Lafayette not only because it's right on the beach but because it is central to places we like to go. We like to eat at The Steakhouse, Congdon's Doughnuts, and The Maine Diner. We like to drive the scenic route through Kennebunkport.

Room Tip: If you're tight on money, you might consider staying in one of the two rooms below ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Lafaytte’s Oceanfront Resort. 9B and 10B, located in the Annex are good options for those traveling on a budget. These two rooms feature a queen sized bed and Kitchenette. They are located on the lower level, but have easy access to the oceanfront patio. Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we look forward to hosing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    110
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
136
126
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Starksboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I spent our first vacation together at Lafayette's 14 years ago. 10 years ago in September we celebrated our honeymoon, and 7 years ago we began visiting with our children. We love it here and will continue to visit each year. Most recently we stayed the weekend of May 17th and will be going again Memorial Weekend.

We have stayed in several different rooms/buildings over the years. They all are very different. Some are more updated than others but all are clean and comfortable. The staff has always been pleasant and willing to help with what ever we need.

For the first time last year we rented one of their houses. We loved it so much we will be renting it again in September for a week.

You couldn't ask for a better location. The beach, arcade and playground (which could use some work) make it the ideal place for families to visit. My children (ages 7 and 3) love it as much as I do. For those with kids the close vicinity of everything to the rooms is an extra selling point with kids.

While I would like more upgrades to the rooms (some of the bed linens really need upgrading), the hotel works on something every year.

I highly recommend this hotel to everyone, singles, dating, married and families alike.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your continued patronage to Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We always strive to provide you with the best possible service as well as a spotless rooms. As for our bed linens, we are in the process of replacing all bedding in all buildings. The Deluxe building received upgraded linens last year and the Ledgeview building will be getting new linens for this summer. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to hosing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Wow. This was an amazing find. The location and view is unbeatable.The room (#208) is modern, recently renovated, roomy, and comfortable. Went to sleep listening to the ocean waves. Here for a short stay, will definitely be back for a longer vacation. Love!

Room Tip: #208 is amazing. The only drawback - the railing of the balcony has large gaps and would not be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cafegal451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We continue to upgrade and improve so we are happy that you enjoyed your room. All of the balconies are on our renovation list. The Wells Beach Motor Inn, in fact, does have newer balconies and railings for those who have small children. Thank you again, we look forward to hosting your future vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

First time we stayed here at Lafayette. Great oceanfront view and right on the beach. Very nice clean room and had a coffee maker in room. The only comment I have is that the bathroom smells a little bit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Durham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanzey, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I were at Lafayette's this past weekend. The room is spacious and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. We have come here at least once a year for the past 20 years, and I vacationed here as a child. I love the oceanfront rooms and the heated swimming pool and large hot tub. The beds are a bit soft for our liking, but everything else is wonderful. I love being able to walk out to the beach at night at high tide and watch the water splash against the wall. I love Wells Beach! The hotel added a coffee maker to the room and has Wi-Fi. I will be back to this hotel later this summer, and don't see that I will ever stop vacationing here!

Room Tip: Room 152 has a couch and a much larger space than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have been coming here for years at least once a year. It is always clean and well maintained, it is a pleasure communicating with them, they are so happy and up beat. We look forward to see what new thing they have done or added from year to year. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terryt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our family has been staying here since I was a child and I am continuing the family tradition with my granddaughter! The oceanfront rooms are truly oceanfront - listening to the waves day and night, and watching the amazing sunrise are just a couple of reasons I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and they have added Keurig Coffeemakers to each room for convenience. I would recommend a stay at Lafayette to everyone!

Room Tip: Beachfront Lodge is my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJStruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
10.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Property: Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing