We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay close to the beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Decent stay close to the beach”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wells is expensive in the summer. Anywhere across the marsh on Post Road, you either have to drive (and pay parking) or take the trolley to the beach...or stay here. This is a complex of various motels on Mile Rd.

Me and my sister opted for the Oxcart Lane Inn facing the march at 170$ a night...no view of the beach, but you can actually walk there in 5 minutes. The rooms are clean but very old school, large, 2 queen beds, comfie, free wifi, a huge bathroom with storage space, some chairs in front of the room facing the parking, fridge, AC, all decent. Old CRT TV had many channels but had an old up-down remote which was a pain. Free coffee in room and at Forbes. Prices for food were quite good, and will try it next time we come).

The pool and jacuzzi are indoor, which is good if its raining or cold. The jacuzzi is quite nice with the waterfall. There is a small gym on premise with decent equipment.

Overall, was please with this place.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    116
    25
    9
    10
See reviews for
145
130
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloversville, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was our second stay in 3 years at the ocean front resort. Although costly and the rooms being a bit outdated and the smell of smoke in the room this time hitting us in the face the location proximity to the ocean and the view of the oceam from the room in the morning is priceless for a vacation to Wells Maine once yearly. The privacy of the room, the indoor pool/spa is worth it for my family. Staff were also friendly and inviting. If you are looking for a place right on Wells beach with a great indoor pool and spa this place is #1 in Wells Maine hands down! Can't wait to go in the summer of 2013.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the ocean for a lovely view at sunrise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went a week ago August 4th-8th 2012 the weather was great. We were put into an older room the first day and than switched to a newer room in new section very nice. The staff were very polite and very helpful., and the service was excellant,
The first room was not to my taste it is very old and dark, dreary, and in need of an extreme makeover. Fake wood paneling walls and ugly carpet, polyester bedspreads and the couch looked like things could be crawling on it, the room was very damp ,,and it smelled a bit, so I was very careful when I entered the room to check for bedbugs etc it seemed to be clean. Honestly if that was the only room left I would not go back it depressed me.
The second room was beautiful, however the mattress was not covered properly with a bed bug cover as the first room had been. It was clean, and had a fireplace,it was up to what a hotel room could look like today , this hotel,, it is not a resort it is simply a hotel on the beach. If you are on the right side it faces the restaurant and parking lot as view,It can get pretty noisy with the cars,,, than you see the ocean. The left side had a concrete patio if you were on the bottom level, that was really good you could sit on it and view the ocean and beach. Otherwise you are restricted to a very small balcony that looks like it could fall if someone heavy stood on it. Forbes restaurant which is part of the property has great breakfasts and you get free coffee from them if you stay at this hotel the clams are the best there...
The beach for some reason had a ton of rocks everywhere, and it was difficult during high tide to get on the beach, because the water comes right up to the hotel stairs, that was dangerous to me if you slipped getting back onto the hotel. The hotel could do a better job of building a larger concrete on the bottom of the stairwell to make it easier to get on the stairs., it was difficult. Would I go back only if I was placed in the newer updated rooms, it was ok the beach is far better in Ogonquit.

Room Tip: take the rooms on the newer side you pay more but it is worth it and they are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlenegoesbyebye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee,quebec
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We chose that hotel for the location, we like to be on the beach and this is perfect for us.I would not say this is a resort it is a hotel but it is clean, the staff is nice and the beach is great. I would recommend that hotel if you are not expecting all inclusive style, it is our second year going at the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Lafayette and was disappointed with the lack of services, unhelpful hotel staff, non-private balconies, and noisy children. This hotel is suited completely for the 'family' traveller with kids. For adults/couples seeking the serenity of the ocean and nature this is NOT the hotel. Though their name includes 'resort' they do not offer any additional services beyond a room to sleep in. For example, though they might throw you some pamphlets for activities, you are on your own completely to arrange outdoor activities (e.g. kayaking). The hotel was clean but their rooms did not feel like it warranted such a steep price range. Beach was always crowded. Though most Maine white sand beaches are bustling with people, the fact that this hotel room is so close to the ocean makes the crowds more in your face. Forget stepping out on your balcony for some quiet time while you catch a glimpse of the ocean and hear the sounds of the waves because rooms are located too close to others - it's more like a communal outdoor space. On the plus side you can sleep with the windows open and hear the ocean sounds. Will not return here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildfl0wer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megciamomwells, Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort. We are very busy and full of families at this time of the year because we are located right on the beach. I have shown your comments to the front desk because if there are children bothering anyone, they are supposed to alert someone on staff to stop the problem. I am sorry that you were unaware of all of the services that we do provide here beyond a room to sleep in. We have an indoor heated pool, a hot tub with a waterfall, a fitness room, free wireless internet throughout the property, bike racks, board games, computers in the lobby for guest use, a lending library, two guest laundry rooms and a playground. We are also open year round and the beach is very quiet and serene in the off season. Please do not ever hesitate to let me know about any concerns while you are here which gives us the opportunity to make your stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbarton, NH
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The best location in Wells as it is right on the beach. Fantastic for families with children, or anyone who likes to walk out of their hotel room and on to the beach. It is getting very pricey; though there are rooms for every pocketbook. Don't expect a resort (even though it brands itself as such), it is merely a hotel with a great location. You can arrive any time on check in day, park in their lot and spend the day at the beach while you wait for your room - rooms are clean and staff is very pleasant. Splurge on an oceanfront room and be lulled to sleep by the waves...great location and easy access to Ogunquit or Kennebunkport...

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank GlennzWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Lafayette has oceanfront rooms right on the beach....or favorite. Any time of year it is totally enjoyable to watch and experience the ocean and beautiful Wells Beach. This is the only hotel in Wells that I recommend to family and friends......after all, if you are going to visit Maine you want to experience the ocean and beach which are at your beck and call 24 hours a day at this hotel! Dont expect fancy rooms such as in a four or five star hotel. The star at this hotel is the view just steps from your door or balcony! Newspaper delivered every morning to your door and indoor pool for times when the ocean seems too cold.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms with private balcony are on second floor and have better views of the beach. First...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxBertGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
4.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Property: Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing