We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop”

Fisherman's Catch Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good stop”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The reviews were spot on. Typical Maine "in the rough" atmosphere. No air conditioning so beware of a breezless day. It was 86 degrees and breezy but it wasn't real uncomfortable. Just warm inside. Fair price and very decent seafood. Scallops were great and the fish was fresh. The sevice was ok. We shall be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    214
    59
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Eat here Your first night of vacation.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

If you are staying Wells for a week of weekend, the Catch should be your first stop when dining out, if you are looking for fried seafood. Grat atmosphere, small and beachy, this place has it all over Billy's and Mikes. It's much smaller and fills up quick so plan accordingly (no reservations) but well worth it. You may even spot George and Barb stopping by, always one of their go tos. I recommend some corn and crab chowder and a fishermans platter with a couple of Geary's Summer.....

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seadrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have been going to Wells for a long time and did not realize what I was missing. The clam chowder was excellent. The lobster roll had no fillers it was all lobster. The staff was friendly and efficient. It is someplace you can visit coming right off the beach. We really enjoyed our meal and will return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Doesn't get any fresher than this! Great oysters, whole belly clams, and atmosphere. Somewhat off the beaten path but get there early to avoid the crowd. Waitresses work very hard and food comes out quickly after ordering. The quality and freshness of the seafood are worth the 20 minutes you may have to wait for a table. The best place we ate in Wells! The value was amazing!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim and Gretche... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, but very crowded (messed up our order a little)”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We arrived at 7 pm on a weeknight. There was a 90 minute wait for seating. According to the hostess, they were busier than usual, but not that much. Arriving after 5:00 will typically mean a wait to be seated.
Takeout was only a 20 minute wait, so we ordered takeout. The food was very, very good- lobster, crab stuffed haddock, grilled chicken salad, hamburger. Two issues- the scallop and bacon roll had fried scallops and bacon. While good, it was not stated on the menu that it was fried. This was an issue for the person who ordered it. Other issue- part of our order was a side garden salad- we did not get it- didn't realize it until we got back to our house.
Overall, we'd go back there again because the food is very good and reasonably priced. It is just that it is very, very busy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emptynesters1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Catch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Catch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing