We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”
Review of Clam Shanty - CLOSED

Clam Shanty
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Full Breakfast - Best Fried Clams In Maine!, Maine Lobsters, Clam Chowder and Lobster Rolls in Maine. Clam Shanty - Fried Clams, Seafood, Lobster Rolls, Clam Chowder, Burgers, Boiled Maine Lobsters and Steamers, Haddock, Scallops, Roast Beef, Hot Dogs and Salads
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Good roast beef sandwich, onion rings were bland. Been going here since they opened, prices went up. Over $15 for a sandwich and onion rings. No drink.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spmc1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville vermont
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“quick and good”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

When we vacation in Maine we sometimes want a quick easy choice. We found it here I can get my seafood, my wife her burger and chicken for the little ones.we do the take out and have not been disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dale i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
225 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

It was good the first time we went, and we were excited to go back. The second time it wasn't so good. It was OK, but not great. No waitstaff, so you have to order and pick the food up at the counter. We needed extra utensils and had to wait to get them as no one paid attention to us. By the time we got them, the food was only luke warm. Try Mikes Clam Shack a mile or so north, it really is the best seafood in Maine! Sorry Clam Shanty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lets start with the good. The food is very good and fair priced the atmosphere is horrible and if you want to sit at the 4 stool bar be prepared to listen to the sad stories of the bar tender and how he doesnt like the management and bring your wallet because a draft beet is going to cost you alot. definately not a place I would go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Order and pickup yourself at the counter. Large selection of foods. Pretty good quality. Not much if you don't eat seafood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing