We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy ambience and excellent food”

Merriland Farm Cafe
Ranked #12 of 69 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfy ambience and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have gone to Merriland Farm Cafe for breakfast and lunch in summer and winter. The setting is so lovely as there is outdoor seating where the patio overlooks part of a golf course and is surrounded by beautiful landscaping and old trees. In winter, a fireplace welcomes patrons along with the feeling of an old inn interior.

There is an outstanding selection of breakfast items including entrees of every kind of imaginable omelet, waffles, pancakes, breakfast sandwiches, french toast, and the usual bacon, eggs, etc. There are so many choices for lunch that no one should go away unhappy! The menu offers all kinds of interesting starters, sandwiches, crepes, subs, wraps, plus delicious sides, salads and soups. We've enjoyed several of the menu items and can't even pick a favorite, they're all so good. We have yet to go for dinner, but that's on our list.

The location is a few scenic minutes off US 1. It's one restaurant you should be sure to try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mainejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    42
    15
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wonderland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth stopping in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife found this place last year on our trip to Wells and it has been an excellent find. We have stopped in for lunch on a couple of occasions and have not been disappointed. From the Lobster Roll, to the Reuben, the taste of the food touches all the right buds and there is plenty left over to eat again and a again. The berry dessert is also worth having! We'll be back again next year!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dot d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful, out-of-the-way restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This restaurant is a great find for breakfast and other meals. it offers fresh ingredients prepared carefully and with great skill. I have not found anything on their menu to complain about. A good alternative to the heavily patronized breakfast restaurants along Route 1.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJWtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner gem off the beaten path.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Every September, 6 of us spend 5 days in Wells, Me. This year we all wanted to find a new place for dinner. My sister in law found Merriland Farm Cafe on the internet. Reservations are accepted for dinner Friday and Saturday (hard to find any place willing to take reservations!) We went last night and were very pleased with our choice. I have a mobility issue and was happy to find the Cafe had a handicap access ramp. Dinner was excellent, super size portions and the servers friendly and attentive. Certainly would recommend for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainer
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Quality of Food Has Declined”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have been coming here regularly for years, since the days when the menu was limited to crepes, muffins and pastries using their berries. The food, especially their breakfast, was uniformly good, even as they grew to become a full restaurant. The last two times we've eaten there have been disappointing. The time before last I was with a party of four, and two of us had to send the meal back because the eggs were cold (not lukewarm, but cold). This latest time (in Sept), I ordered the Boiled Crab and Cheddar Benedict, and once again the eggs arrived stone cold. Worst, the benedict sauce had congealed and hardened. Inedible. I am very surprised at how the quality of the food has declined so precipitously, after many, many years of being spot on consistent. Over the years we have recommended this place innumerable times to friends, and have taken many family members and guests there. Maybe we will return next year to try it again, but we are no longer the regulars we have been in years past.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriland Farm Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Merriland Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing