We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful setting, mediocre food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merriland Farm Cafe

Merriland Farm Cafe
Ranked #12 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The location is superbly kept. A wonderful atmosphere. Nice, relaxed service

Unfortunately, the food was pretty mediocre. Considering the price, disappointing.

Over cooked poached eggs, burned hash, etc. were served. How can these easy to cook staples of bfast be ruined?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Panaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    41
    15
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Easthampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Went for breakfast and didn't eat the rest of the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went for breakfast and sat outside. There were 6 of us with two children ages 4 and 6 so I wasn't sure how it would be but I was very pleasantly surprised. I ordered the special which was a flatbread with eggs, ham, sausage, bacon, onion and pepper smothered in cheddar jack cheese. It came with home fries which were made fresh and cut like chips. It was served with salsa. I could not believe when the plate came. It was so much food! Everything was extremely fresh and really delicious. I managed to eat the whole thing but could not eat the remainder of the day. The total bill came to $56 and change for the six of us and no one left hungry! Excellent meal for the money. Will definitely be back next time we are in Maine and would recommend to anyone. It's a little off the beaten path but certainly worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a great place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My son discovered this place while researching places to have breakfast. What a wonderful , warm place to eat. Food is fantastic and the prices are very reasonable. You feel like a guest at someone's home. I highly recomend you try it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delicious surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by a friend, so we had to come try the blueberry muffins. Started with the peach stuffed baked French toast w/ raspberry topping and my partner had the Irish Eyes Benedict w/ homemade hash. Both were absolutely delicious. And filling. We had to take the muffins (blueberry & a raspberry/white chocolate) to go - and when we did dig in we were not disappointed. The yummy and moist and tasty. Not much white chocolate to see, but the raspberry was yummy. We will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irishlazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, too hot inside to enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a recommendation to try the restaurant and made a reservation for 8 people, Friday, July 19th. It is off the beaten path, in a pretty location. It was very hot on Friday and we were looking forward to a nice dinner in a cool setting. The interior of the restaurant was extremely uncomfortable. They had two very small air conditioners in the wall and three fans trying to move the air around. The restaurant was not very crowded. The food was very good, but nobody really could enjoy it, as it should have been, it was just too warm inside. Most left with leftovers. I would go back but only in the cooler weather, which is a shame.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KCapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merriland Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing