We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lobster!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mike's Clam Shack

Mike's Clam Shack
Ranked #9 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington D.C. Metro Area
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent lobster!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wandering around in Wells Maine following a visit to a local cinema, we happened upon Mike's. Although the restaurant was near closing time, we were still accommodated. The food was rather expensive, but it was well prepared. The wait staff, in a hurry to close up, still did a great job, although the surly Maine attitude was well on hand. Despite the surly waitress, our meal was great, and I'm never too offended by surliness in Maine. I find it rather charming and have come to expect it from many of the older folks that are less than thrilled with us tourist types. That's fine. I'll continue to visit Maine, because it is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. AND I would eat at Mike's again, albeit, next time, we will dine early.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittehgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    372
    204
    65
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We are regulars at Mike and recently were told our favorite appetizer was going up in price during happy hour. I did not mind that but also found out they were reducing the portion size. The final blow came when they also took Guinness off happy hour. The waitresses are the best so we still go just not as much.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dandurgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Fried Seafood and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you like fried Seafood, this is the place to go. They really know how to cook the seafood and not bread it or cook it to death! The prices are very reasonable and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed Gulf Shrimp and Whole Clams. Both were cooked perfectly. The Shack Potatoes are great too! I would recommend this place to everyone - couples, family, friends etc. It's a great place with ALL KINDS of yummy seafood cooked right! We will return again on our next visit to Wells, Maine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

we live in the south and there is nothing like cold water seafood..We return every time we go to New England

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsdig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, ME
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you like seafood, this is a great choice. I was there with two friends. I had to combo fried clams and scallops and it was delicious. One other had the baked stuffed haddock and the other had baked combo of haddock and scallops. Both said their meals were excellent. Prices are reasonable the the service was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryWashington_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mike's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing