We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good seafood for your stop in Wells Me”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mike's Clam Shack

Mike's Clam Shack
Ranked #8 of 69 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hinsdale, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good seafood for your stop in Wells Me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A nice place to get your seafood fix while you take a break from the beach, many options and a wonderful atmosphere. Easy to get to and plenty of parking even for its popularity. Is a bit on the pricy side, but large portions, and the price is comparable for other in season places.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabe4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    373
    205
    65
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
229 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Timing is Everything...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I see where the last review done on Mike's was written by someone in my own hometown...and I'm so sorry she didn't have the same great experience we did. We had never eaten at Mike's before but saw their sign where they had a lobster special from 11:30 to 4 pm for $11.95...so the three of us ran right in and took advantage of that special! It was great - the lobster was delicious, the rolls were hot, the baked potatoes good and the cole slaw really tasty. Two of us had beer and one had a glass of wine and the prices were pretty reasonable - $4 each. Our server was terrific, too, and service was not slow....but then again, at 4 pm there's not a big crowd. Maybe timing is everything :-). If you didn't have much for lunch and don't mind an early dinner, this is a great place to stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDiekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not happy from Arizona”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have been coming to Maine for vacation for 15 years and always eat at Mike's, this year we are very disappointed.The prices have gone up, ( guessw they have topay for new market) and the food was really bad. The clames and scallops were so suggy and didn't taste good all. I wish I could have asked for my $57+ change back. This was for just 2 of us. I guess this will be our last trip to Mike's Clam Shack. Sorry

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Came to Maine for seafood, lobster was good, but service was extremely slow!!! We were seated 20 minutes before we saw our server. She was very nice, but really over-worked. Not enough help to handle the crowd. She had too many tables to take of. Food was good, nothing extraordinary. Did get some cute souvenirs from the gift shop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Holy Salt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The server was very nice and attentive, but she was the only person we saw the entire night, no one else was around.

One person had baked haddock that came with an iceburg lettuce salad, and potato. The haddock was perfect, but iceburg, really, this place gets good reviews, not what you expect. Another had a fried haddock sandwich and chowder, both good and large portion. A third had lobster roll with chowder and was fine. BUT, I had a veggie stir-fry since that was the only way to get veggies there. My goodness, is there any salt left in the restaurant after they made it?????? If everyone else wasn't in a rush to get out for other evening plans I would have sent it back, but instead didn't say anything and just suffered.

I realize most people don't go there for stir-fry or healthy food, so that is why the reviews are so good. Portions are large and good, but if you wish to eat healthy, Bull n Claw is a much better choice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank summerfuninwintersun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mike's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing