We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the few places open off season”
Review of Mike's Clam Shack

Mike's Clam Shack
Ranked #10 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of the few places open off season”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were travelling at the end of March and had tried to go to a lobster place in Ogunquit, but everything was closed. We asked a local and Mike's Clam Shack was recommended. So off we went! We had a lovely meal. Our main reason for going was for the children to try some lobster. It was great, as was the service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CavMcDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    375
    209
    65
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Chowder, Clams & Sports Bar”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Weekend winter get away brought us to Mike's for a late lunch. Enjoyed one of the best bowls of Clam Chowder since coming up this way! Great Lobster roll and full belly fried clams while watching college basketball. The service was friendly and it was busy for a January Day!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Thought it might be a tourist trap but it wasn't
Locals abound

Best lobster stew I've ever had

Disappointed jumbo lobster roll was on a round Billie type dry roll

Fried food outstanding including onion rings

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lobster and. So much more”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We dined at Mike's upon a referral from a friend in NJ. The prices of lobster have increased but this weekend we had a lobs yah dinner for way less than another local restaurant.. The service was great.. Wait staff and all parties very friendly and efficient.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bblancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a Great time”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our party consisted of 22 adults and children. Staff only requested a 45 minute notice, and upon arrival were able to accomodated us within 15 minutes.
All had a great time, especially our visitors from Texas.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JerrryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mike's Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing