We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varano's Italian Restaurant”

Varano's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Varano's Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Well hello...We have going to Angelins's since they opened. It was our favorite place here. They are closed for the month of March so we decided to visit Varano's. It was a wonderful experience. The service was wonderful, very gracious hosts, and the food was out of this world. Definately going back. Would recomend this place to all my friends and family. Not to say that Angelina's lacked in any way, but Varno's was just as good. I give 5 stars to both places..........Tracy was our server and was very friendly, without being over bearing and acomodated all our needs !!! Pat and Linda

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    120
    52
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eliot, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“north end quality and quantity”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have dined out alot and we like very nice restaurants ,this is a very well run restaurant ,the food is excellant ,we had steak ,shrimp dish and chicken parm ,all 3 were great.appetizers ,dessert ,wine all very good ,service excellant and enough to take home for another meal.
this restaurant is not overpriced if you compare it to other restaurants with the same quality and quantity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than the North End”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had dinner at Varano's last night with my cousin and aunt who was celebrating her 82nd birthday!
The bread is out of this world! Crispy crust delicious! The blue cheese salad dressing was my cousin's favorite. I had chicken parm and they had veal parm. Didn't even need a knife! The sauce was fabulous! Being from Boston and knowing the North End I believe Varano's beats them all!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neecee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Wells MAINE!!! Varanos!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Dinner at Varanos tonight -- was AWESOME. We always order the Chix Parm dinner. It is HUGE and better than any Italian Restaurant in the North End in Boston - that's my opinion. Seriously!! Our waitress was Mary and I have to say that she gave EXCELLENT service. I would suggest going there anytime. It does get busy especially in the summer so plan ahead!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I went to Varano's on our first date and then for dinner 1 year later after he proposed on the beach. Roger Sibley, partner and general manager, made the occasion very special for the both of us. Since then, we go every Valentine's Day and when we are home (not vacationing) on our anniversary. The menu is a bit pricey, but the atmosphere and food is definitely worth it. Kind, friendly staff and we always see Roger there with a welcoming smile. I would highly recommend trying Varano's......I have a feeling that you will be back. Here is their link. http://www.varanos.com/aboutus.php

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QuiteSurprised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varano's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Varano's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing