We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice evening”

Varano's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Canterbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went to Varano's during a recent weekend getaway to nearby Ogunquit. There was a 45 minute wait, we waited in the large downstairs bar. Drink prices were a bit high, $15 for 2 drinks which were on the smaller size. Our waiter was very friendly, knowledgable and attentive. The meal started off with very good bread and olive oil with parmesan cheese and garlic, and we shared the fried mozzarella appetizer which was excellent. Linguini and meatballs was delicious, as was the "Gamberi Di Cappesante Con Aragosta" - shrimp, scallop & lobster with peas in a vodka gorgonzola lobster cream sauce tossed with fettuccini. The atmosphere is very old world Italian, and we enjoyed a very relaxing meal without feeling rushed. We wouldn't hesitate to visit Varano's again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KRJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    122
    52
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in the Area”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved our experience at Varano's. Great bread with wonderful oil to start. There were 4 in our party each ordering different enteees and all of us were delighted. The Chicken parm is to die for and we took home enough for lunch the next day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drakesisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, VT
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what we got.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Judging from the other reviews, we expected better, but maybe it was just an off night. It's not a cheap eat, so I think we were expecting dishes better than mediocre.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank lodiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hour long wait -- wish it had been worth it”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

As part of a weekend package, we received a gift certificate to Varano's. We decided to go for dinner on a Saturday night of a holiday weekend, and were not surprised by an hour long wait. The downstairs has a bar, so I grabbed 2 beers for my wife and I...a little bit of sticker shock when the barkeep asked for $13.

When were finally seated, the waiter was very kind, helpful, and attentive. We decided on a seafood pasta dish -- I can't remember the name. It had lobster, shrimp, and scallops with fettucini in a cream sauce. The lobster was over cooked and almost inedible, but the shrimp and scallops were superb. We were both a bit underwhelmed by the sauce and the pasta. The sauce was a bit insipid.

After the wait and everyone raving, we were expecting something a bit better. Maybe we just ordered the wrong thing???

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Went on a Thursday night..6pm.. My husband had the veal parm dinner..very large portion and
preparation..perfect..as was the taste. Their sauce is exceptional. I had the ravioli, which, if not
for the sauce would have been a bit flat. Caesar salad was wonderful as was the bread. The fried mozzarella appetizer was to die for!!
For dessert, I had tiramisu..one of the best I have ever eaten! Topped off with decaf cappuccino.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FLjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varano's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Varano's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing