We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Coma heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bull And Claw

Bull And Claw
Ranked #20 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Buffet, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Wells, The Bull N' Claw offers the highest quality seafood and steaks at the most reasonable prices with portions that will make you smile after every scrumptious bite! Over the past 36 years, we've become the destination for visitors to New England to enjoy deliciously fresh local seafood including our famous cape porpoise lobster, always prepared to order. It doesn't get any fresher or any better than Bull N' Claw.
Saint Albans, Vermont
1 review
“Food Coma heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

' The works' or the 'three way combo' will feed four people easily. Cooked FABULOUSLY, quick service. Worth the trip. Go-enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    173
    96
    66
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Easter Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I am so pleased to say that our waitress Amelia went above and beyond her duties for us.....Definitely one of the BEST dining experiences we ever had! Thanks so much for making our Easter holiday so VERY special! Gil & Sherry Bond

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sher5962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palenville, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2 foot lobster roll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our final lunch destination during a recent visit awarded my husband and I with a two foot long lobster roll on fresh baguette ($37). The Oyster Stew was exceptional, although pricey at $14 a bowl (10 large oysters in the whole bowl though). The waitress was very accommodating and friendly. A it expensive for lunch but certainly memorable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Better than its nearby competition with NO WAIT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This restaurant has always been our standby. When guests come to town (and they do when you spend the summer in this wonderful Maine community) and we want good, wholesome, home-style cooking that doesn't empty your wallet, is in a place that is clean and has the best wait staff in town, we head to the Bull and Claw. The food is consistently outstanding and nowhere else in this town can you get a better deal with the Lobster Roll...and whole lobsters. Sure you can wait in a line elsewhere for the "ambiance" but for our money the Bull and Claw is THE place to go. Shelley on the wait staff is a riot and true professional - attentive and never wrong with her advice. AND let's not forget the wonderful imaginative cocktails - an Easter Peep Martini...unbelievable and delicious. Last Fall it was the pumpkin martini that tasted like a slice of your grandma's pie! Don't pass this up.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saturday Night Supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My adult son and I saw an advertisement on TV about 4 months ago that was quite humorous. Wells, ME is approximately 75 miles from our home, so we thought that we wouldn't make a special trip, but rather incorporate it into some other trip to southern Maine. Our opportunity came last Saturday night, and we were not disappointed. We arrived around 7:30 PM and the restaurant was quite busy, but we were seated within 5 min. of our entrance and our waitress, Amelia was taking our drink order in very short notice. The hostess and wait staff were very prompt, friendly and of good humor. I had the roast beef which was on the fatty side, but not more so than most cuts like this. That said it was quite tasty and the portions were large. My son had the roast beef and lobster combo, and he too was very pleased with his dinner. The desert menu only had a half dozen items, but the two we selected were very good. Amelia also provided some good advice on whether to have the Caramel Granny Apple Cobbler heated or room temperature. All in all, it was a very good experience, but I thought a little on the expensive side. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjsi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bull And Claw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing