We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Steakhouse

The Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
BabsRI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went to The Steakhouse while vacationing in Wells over the 4th of July. We were a party of 8 and got there before the doors opened as you cannot make a reservation. We only waited outside for about 15 minutes then went straight in. We were given a round table upstairs which works great for a group. The food was great, not one complaint from anyone in the group. Our waitress and service was exceptional. Good food, good prices, great service. What more can you ask for?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BabsRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    131
    57
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Steakhouse a must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were told the wait was 70-75 mins. only 45, worth every minute. Filet Mignon is perfectly cooked and delicious. Don't forget to try the baked beans, they are delicious

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mooseren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Having eaten here many times over the last 20+ years I've never once had a bad meal here. The food is perfectly cooked, well seasoned and the menu offers a great variety of options; even for those who prefer not to eat steak. The service is always great and the value for your money is excellent. Portions are generous and you never leave hungry. I ordered steak tips even though they aren't on the menu and they were very well cooked.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boidiva02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Every year we go to Maine
We go to this great restaurant,
What more can you ask for
Than great service , great
Food , varied menu , good
Portions.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant ... Poorly Managed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I will make it short.
The food was good and our waitress was very good.
My issue with this restaurant is with the management.
We showed up at 4:30pm with a party of 10. They open at 4 and we knew we would have to wait for the first round of dinners to be done with their meals and we would be seated.
When we arrived we were told it would be 45 minute wait, no problem... Exactly what we expected.
They have a downstairs waiting area and when we got there we were the only ones waiting in that room.
Our 45 minutes turned in to 11/2 hours and the waiting room filled and emptied with at least 25 or 30 people who were seated before us.
when we asked the hostess if our table would be ready soon she was very snotty and said "we are doing the best we can" and said that while looking down at her book... No eye contact.
.we finally were seated and after our meal asked to speak to the manager.. When we asked her why we had to wait so long when so many other smaller parties were seated and why they couldn't have pushed tables together for our larger party?
She became very nasty and didn't really want to be questioned about how the seating was done.
I knew we would get nowhere and didn't want anything for free, just wanted to let her know for the next party of 10.
Really seemed like she could not care less that we had an issue.
Seems like a restaurant in an area full of families on vacation would be a lot better at accommodating parties of 10 or larger.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chipper112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing