We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot say enough....”
Review of The Steakhouse

The Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cannot say enough....”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Do not let a long wait change your mind about dining at The Steakhouse. Food and service is very good. The surf and turf choices are a perfect mix. The homemade dressings, Gorgonzola butter, and house potatoes are a must!!!! Always a great dinner at The Steakhouse.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    135
    61
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, MA
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I hadn't dined at The Steakhouse for several years, but I still anticipated a long wait to be seated, even though we arrived only 45 minutes after the opening. Parking was already at a premium, and we were told it would be an hour before we would be seated. Actually, the wait was only about 40 minutes, and the ensuing dining experience was well worth the wait. A steak- lover's haven amidst the proliferation of seafood restaurants, the petite Filet Mignon was cooked to perfection. The starter salad was crisp and fresh, and our choice of the Malbec went perfectly with the main course. Our waitress, Wendy, was efficient and cheery, adding to the pleasant atmosphere of the room, tastefully decorated with sailboat models mounted on the rafters of the barn-like dining room. Highly recommended- just be prepared to wait a while.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

There's a reason people are lined up waiting for this place to open at 4 pm everyday! Great steaks, great staff, great meals! Try the house potatoes side. Also loved the crab cakes, and the ribs were terrific!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sooz830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went early on a Saturday night and there was still a wait, but it was only 15-20 minutes and the Patriots game was on in the waiting area so no problem here. The lobster stew alone will bring us back, it's full of lobster in a sherry cream sauce that is to die for. The steaks are great and the house potatoes are very good. The service is prompt and professional. They make a mean Margarita. The atmosphere is chic casual and is very inviting. We are looking forward to going back the prices are comparable to area restaurants. If your in the neighborhood give it a try

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruins_Kill_Them_All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

To echo many other reviews, this place is "worth the wait"! We managed to park next door, put our name in, and waited approx. 45 mins downstairs in the bar area. We were seated on the upper floor and waited a few minutes for our waitress, the thoughtful and well-trained Wendy -- she brought the garlic rolls over at her first contact/drink order. Wine arrived, our orders were taken, and we were served our good-sized side salads (and one tasty applesauce) shortly thereafter. All ordered the petite filet mignon medium, and all were juicy, soft, and perfectly cooked (we're steak lovers). Other sides of fries & baked beans were great. We all regret that we were too full for dessert, but there WILL be a next time thanks to the excellent food, reasonable prices, and Wendy. High marks!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing