We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beef Around”
Review of The Steakhouse

The Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Essex, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Beef Around”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Not only does The Steakhouse have the best beef around, they also have wonderful seafood meals. Their home made rolls are also excellent. I'm hooked, I will definitely return my next time in Maine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    135
    61
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The food here was excellent. I had baked scallops and they were the best I have ever eaten. There was 9 of us and everyone loved their meal. The desserts weren't the best and our waitress could have been friendlier, but I would definitely go back for the food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank krillManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best place to get a steak.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We always eat here on our vacation to Maine. We have never been disappointed in the food or the service. You will have to wait for a table but they do a good job of getting you in as soon as they can.

Everything we have ever ordered has been fresh and delicious. The only slight is the house salad. It's pretty boring. The steaks are tender and delicious. Leave room for the blueberry cobbler!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amotedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hurray steak!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After deciding to take a break from fish, lobster and clam chowder, we decided to hit up The Steakhouse. I've gone to many steakhouses in my life and I can't say that this is the best steak ever, but for what its worth, I was very satisfied. I ordered the 16 ounce sirloin and it was cooked perfectly. It was tender and had no fat on it. It was like a juicy Filet Mignon. The service was great as well, she knew the entire menu and got everything correct, hard to do for a table of 10. I highly recommend The Steakhouse for a change in Maine dining. The menu has so much that I'm sure you'll find something to your liking. Hurray steak!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XavierPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You don't have to ask, "Where's the beef?"”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A delightful hostess advised we had about an hour's wait for dinner, but within 30 minutes and a smart owner who has additional places to purchase beverages while you wait, we were seated at a nice table with a busy but friendly server who knew her stuff. Wish we'd had room for dessert!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nana13Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing