We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hurray steak!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Steakhouse

The Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hurray steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

After deciding to take a break from fish, lobster and clam chowder, we decided to hit up The Steakhouse. I've gone to many steakhouses in my life and I can't say that this is the best steak ever, but for what its worth, I was very satisfied. I ordered the 16 ounce sirloin and it was cooked perfectly. It was tender and had no fat on it. It was like a juicy Filet Mignon. The service was great as well, she knew the entire menu and got everything correct, hard to do for a table of 10. I highly recommend The Steakhouse for a change in Maine dining. The menu has so much that I'm sure you'll find something to your liking. Hurray steak!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XavierPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    131
    57
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You don't have to ask, "Where's the beef?"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A delightful hostess advised we had about an hour's wait for dinner, but within 30 minutes and a smart owner who has additional places to purchase beverages while you wait, we were seated at a nice table with a busy but friendly server who knew her stuff. Wish we'd had room for dessert!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nana13Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield,NH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling to Maine with our family for many years. A dinner or two at The Steakhouse is always included because of the wonderful meals we have enjoyed there. The food is delicious and well prepared. You couldn't ask for better beef or seafood and friendly , courteous help. Arrive early as the dining rooms fill up and often there is a 45 minute wait, though well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NHBahamamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed. Gone downhill. Poor steak quality.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

6/25/13; Teriyaki sirloin med-rare was very dry - 3 chunks of meat: not a steak. Tasted like they were grilled and then dunked in soy sauce. Very salty and bad. Ate about 3 bites. Filet also very dry (med rare). Sides were good but that wasn't what I paid for. And the KICKER: someone had sprayed (somehow spilled upward) a sauce that dripped onto both me and another in our party: it was also on the wall behind our seats. So much for sanitary practices.

Won't be back. Had been recommended by one from our party who had really good meals there 3 times in the past. So much for the OLD DAYS!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It's popular for a good reason!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This large steak-and-seafood restaurant is immensely popular in the area, so there will likely be a wait for a table in season (they don't take reservations), but it's well worth it. Have a drink and relax, and the meal will be great. The atmospher is large barn, rustic style on a couple of levels, with steps to climb. Not sure if it's all handicapped-accessible. Our table was by the window with a view of the water, boats, etc. We had superb service by a very congenial local waitress who knew the ins and outs of the menu perfectly. And the food is terrific! Some of us had teriyaki steak that was just wonderful, and friends said the lobster pie is "out of this world." I also had a first-rate onion soup, and there were memoralble onion rings as well. Portions are very generous. Loved this place and will certainly be back. Don't let the crowds put you off--they're there for good reasons!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing