We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Steakhouse

The Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visit this restraint every year we vacation in ogunquit, Maine. If it's summer time or the on season be prepared to wait a verrrry long time to be seated. It's worth the wait trust me . The food is wonderful and the wait staff works tirelessly to meet your needs. It's an old barn with three large floors and a bar that is professional. Ask them what to make and you will get what you ordered. Not really a good place for young children as it it gets overly crowded and noisy. Great for adults who want to enjoy a grown up meal. It's a casual place so you don't have to worry about dressing up much. They give you yummy rolls with a touch of garlic on top and the rolls come out hot. They don't take those prepaid visa cards though just cash and credit cards. The atm machine is on the first floor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joecat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    131
    57
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We LOVE eating at The Steakhouse but you've got to get there early unless you want to wait for a table...but even having to wait is well worth it when the food comes! Amazingly tender steaks! I don't know about anything else they offer because we go there to eat STEAK- highly recommend the New York Strip Steak- it literally does melt in your mouth! I want to go back there RIGHT NOW!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overated!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant does not take reservations so unless you want to eat very early, plan to wait for your table. It does get busy but the food is decent. After your order is taken, I suggest you tell your server "not to rush things" as the food will be out too quickly and you cannot enjoy your cocktails. However, as said before, the food is good. I particularly enjoy the seafood entries, especially the salmon dish. The portion is just right and priced fairly.

Also, be prepared to pay you bill at the cash register as the server is not allowed to handle your money. This can be inconvenient as you may have to return to the table to leave the tip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue425_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The wait is worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you want a steak done right this is the place. Perfect meal. Exactly what we wanted and it was prepared perfectly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kalvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome steak house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love the place! Great onion soup, fantastic salad and great steaks. Service is great and well worth the lengthy wait during peak season!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evilee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing