We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long beach”
Review of Wells Beach

Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Long beach”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

When we visit this part of Maine we always walk Wells Beach. We had no trouble finding a parking spot in the lot as it was the third week in October. In fact we parked in the first row, facing the beach. It is quite long. Various shells, stones and mostly broken sand dollars. However this trip I did find a whole sand dollar and was delighted!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    192
    54
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hanson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walkers Take Note”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great for walking indefinitely, as long as the tide is out. This seems to be a popular activity which many visitors and residents were enjoying as we were.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Not exactly the tropics, but it is Maine after all. Nice and quiet and family friendly
Easy to get to but not much parking available
Rest rooms conveniently located and fairly clean

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Gorgeous beach we visit nearly every day and i wouldn't want to be anywhere eles! we are very lucky to live here!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harrold r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect Fall Get-a-Way”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wells Beach is quiet in October. Just the way we like it. Not much going on there. Lots of rentals. Just down the road, withing walking distance of the center, is a lovely beach. It's location between York and Kennebunkport made it an ideal place to tour from. The town of Wells is just over a marsh with lots of activity, places to eat and things to do. But you can escape to Wells Beach for quiet and an absolutely marvelous B&B.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinTXUSAJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wells Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing