We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably great stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven By The Sea B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    12
    0
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
354
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed at Haven By the Sea for just one night and are already looking forward to a return visit. The inn is located in Wells Beach, a short block away from the ocean. We liked the location as it was away from the busyness of other B & B's that we passed along Route 1.

John and Susan are wonderful innkeepers; their love for their inn is evident in the beautiful decor, spotlessly clean rooms, and attention to their guests' needs. The inn has very comfortable common areas which made it especially nice for me to relax while my husband checked his emails via their wifi. We also appreciated the central air-conditioning as it was unseasonably warm.

Sue warmly greeted us at check-in and asked if we had any specific dietary needs or preferences. We met John during the social hour - we felt like we were sitting with old friends as we enjoyed their humor and refreshments. We asked for suggestions for dinner and John readily called to make reservations for us after determining our preferences.

We enjoyed a great night's sleep. The bed in our room was extremely comfortable - more than ours at home!

Breakfast, served on the back deck overlooking their beautifully landscaped yard and the marsh between Wells and Wells Beach, was fabulous. We had a fruit with a mascarpone cheese topping followed by a Swedish pancake topped with a homemade berry sauce and a side of turkey sausage. John served (Sue is the chef) and again he entertained us with his bantering humor. We did note that some other guests seemed to prefer more private seating and conversation and the seating on the deck allowed for that.

Several of the other guests were return visitors to the inn - we hope to be that ourselves as well!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank IlliniHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2007

We went to Maine for a color tour with my parents and found a description of this B & B in Fodor's. Fodor's had listed this B & B as a find. So we jumped at the opportunity to stay here.

We loved it!!! It was like a family at the Inn. The happy hour was great. We got to mingle with the other guests (who were repeat guests to the inn and the area) and picked up tips on where to go and what to see. The innkeepers were delightful and courteous.

This property is a little off the beaten path. However, the ocean is steps away. Accordingly, very little night life around. All in all to stay at an old church was AWESOME!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2006

My wife and I have stayed with John and Susan on three occasions.....and on each stay we give the Haven By The Sea a 5 star rating. I read all the reviews and I guess there is always one bad apple in the bunch ... They must have had a bad day .... Our most recent visit was impromptu .... our car broke down in the area and luckily John and Susan could accommodate us ... They even stowed our kayaks under the back deck for a month .... this really expedited our return to Montreal ....These folks go above and beyond...do not hesitate to book a visit to what should be renamed "Heaven by the Sea"


Bill and Mary,

Montreal, Canada

  • Liked — The friendliness of the owners and how they get guests to interact
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maryandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

I stayed at this renovated former church on a recent business trip. What a great choice! The location was great for early morning walks. Breakfast was delicious and entertaining thanks to our hosts, Susan and John. The room was unique -- up the spiral staircase to a quiet loft-like enclave. I could lounge and do work in bed, thanks to the wireless connection. I'm sorry I missed happy hour both days. I'll have to return on vacation!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank MMasarech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stayed at the Haven by the Sea for one night, and I wish we had stayed longer. The place is very charming, and in a great location. The Inn Keepers are very nice, and the breakfast they served was excellent. Also, the Inn Keepers had a late afternoon cocktail hour that was great. The place is immaculate and the attention to detail impeccable. Overall, this place is a great place to stay. We will return.

Helpful?
9 Thank shafet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2006

On Saturday, March 11,2006 Jean and I were married at Haven by the Sea.We decided to make it a weekend event and arrived on Friday 3/10/06.
John and Sue were the absolute best from the time we got there up to and including our departure.They took care of the details so we could simply relax and enjoy.They helped us with the band, meal, decor,minister,provided special care for my elderly parents,provided for our family members on both friday and Saturday,repaired the grooms tuxedo pants,and simply made this the best day of our lives.
I do intend to return to Haven By the Sea.It will be nice to take part in some of the special activity that they provide as getaway opportunities.
For a wedding of our size (we had 65 guest), this is absolutely the best place to have a wedding.The Inn is beautiful,but John and Sue"s hospitality cannot be overshadowed by the beauty of this Inn.They are simply INN Credible.
Thanks to both of you for hosting our this special day.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
4.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
5.6 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven By The Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven By The Sea B&B Inn

Property: Haven By The Sea B&B Inn
Address: 59 Church Street, Wells, ME 04090-4240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haven By The Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal. Relaxed. Desired. Ocean side, and centrally located between Ogunquit and Kennebunkport, this seaside bed and breakfast is Wells Beach premier B & B Inn. Once a seaside church, now completed renovated with oversize custom guestrooms and suites with waterviews. The Inn offers all the amenities you would expect at your finer lodging establishments including a complimentary breakfast and full bar service. Enjoy the terrace with its breeze from the ocean and surrounding marshlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Haven By The Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven By The Sea Hotel Wells
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing