We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!! Always enjoy our stay. Highly recommended to our friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Best bed and breakfast Inn that we have visited. Hosts are always friendly and funny. Food is excellent. Will go there againt

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momdadconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 522 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2009

Very clean Facility and extremely frendly atmosfere. Outstanding breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMACIEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Susan and John will do whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. We've been their welcome guests since they decided to start their lovely B&B, and look forward to each annual return with great expectations - which they always manage to exceed. Breakfast offerings are superb and filling, lovingly prepared by Susan and deftly delivered by John. And both are adept at preparing world-class martinis, which can be enjoyed either in the privacy of your room, or with the laughter filled company of their other guests. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deharn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Many other reviews have described the Inn, I don't have much to add other than to say that descriptions don't do the building and it's interior justice. You really need to go and see it first hand to truly appreciate what a fanatastic job John and Susan have done! While you're there, make sure you don't miss breakfast and happy hour. We really enjoyed spending time with the other guests and our hosts were always going out of their way to make sure everyone was comfortable, relaxed and having a good time. We enjoyed every minute and will defininitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Gail_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

My Mom and I have started a wonderful tradition. Every year we go to Haven for girl's weekend away. My mom introduced me to the place a few years ago. We had so many laughs and made so many memories, I couldn't fit it all in the scrapbook. Now every July we return to relax and marvel at the beauty of Haven. Our room is extensively clean and well maintained. The breakfast is always something delicious and the drinks at Happy Hour have us rushing back so we don't miss it. Our favorite part would have to be John and Susan. They make us feel right at home from the moment our car pulls up to the front. It truly feels like a home away from home!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdarling19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband and I have not been away together without the kids for quite some time. I wanted to find a place near the beach, but wanted something different than the usual hotel/motel type place. After searching for what seemed to be forever, I finally picked up the phone and called to inquire about this particular B & B since it appeared to have availability. I spoke the owner, Susan and instantly knew this was the place for us.
The Inn is charming, but elegant. I loved our room, but also loved having our breakfast (and later, a cocktail ) outside on the patio, sitting out front on the rockers in the sun with my tea, and of course, meeting other guests. The food was delicious and so nicely presented. Very generous servings as well.
Both John and Susan made us feel welcomed and were very attentive to our needs throughout our weekend stay. They are both so easy to talk. Susan helped us with choosing a restaurant for our anniversary dinner by gathering several menus for us to review and then made the reservation for us. John offered the use of the Inn for a quick "pit stop" before we headed out later Sunday afternoon, way beyond our check-out time.
We left Maine feeling pampered, relaxed and content. Truly, The Haven by The Sea is good for the soul!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxMeAmherst_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a FANTASTIC weekend spent at Haven by the Sea. We received a gift certificate to the B&B as a wedding present and were so excited to redeem it. Having never stayed at a B&B before we weren't quite sure what to expect.

I am a person who does a lot of "researching" before heading into something new. Meaning I read reviews on sites like this and check out the attractions they recommend. I was excited about the high marks on all sites and honestly a little weary about the small fraction of poor/terrible reviews.

This B&B was beautiful! An old church completely renovated by the Innkeepers (John and Susan) has lots of charm.

John assisted us with our bags from the car, showed us our room and then gave us a tour of the property. The building has one of the original pews in a hallway, spacious dining room, and a lovely deck where we enjoyed cocktails at happy hour and breakfast in the morning. Our room was large and extremely clean and complete with a rubber ducky on the edge of the bath tub to make it feel even more like a home away from home.

Haven by the Sea is conveniently located in Wells, ME. When I was younger I had vacationed to Ogunquit and York before but never to Wells. I love how this B&B isn’t in the middle of all tourists shops and restaurants yet within walking distance to Trolleys (public transportation) so we didn’t have to worry about paying for parking in town, if we chose.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious and I wish Susan would share some of those recipes! It began with juice orders, then a delicious appetizer, followed by the main course! My husband and I never felt rushed and loved being able to just relax and enjoy each others company!

At night we never had issues with noise or being reprimanded for being out late, I find those comments hard to believe. My husband and I brought our own bottle of wine and were surprised that we had glasses in our room for us to use! At about 10:30 -11pm we poured ourselves a glass of wine and ventured out to the beach for a midnight stroll. When we returned my husband helped himself to the complimentary Port, Sherry and Brandy in one of the common areas and sampled each of them.

Overall we were extremely satisfied and I am looking forward to returning next month for a girl’s weekend!!

John and Susan thank you soo much once again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise_Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
2.1 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
885 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 29 in Wells
440 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 29 in Wells
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven By The Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven By The Sea B&B Inn

Address: 59 Church St, Wells, ME 04090-4240
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $170 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haven By The Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal. Relaxed. Desired. Ocean side, and centrally located between Ogunquit and Kennebunkport, this seaside bed and breakfast is Wells Beach premier B & B Inn. Once a seaside church, now completed renovated with oversize custom guestrooms and suites with waterviews. The Inn offers all the amenities you would expect at your finer lodging establishments including a complimentary breakfast and full bar service. Enjoy the terrace with its breeze from the ocean and surrounding marshlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Haven By The Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven By The Sea Hotel Wells
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing