We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Inn-Credible!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven By The Sea B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
1 review
“Just Inn-Credible!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

We absolutely loved our stay at Haven By the Sea! From the moment my fiance and I walked in the door, the Innkeepers, John and Susan, made us feel so welcomed and relaxed. The Inn is charming and beautifully decorated. Our room was wonderful and the location of the Inn is great. It's so close to the beach and to local shops. Cocktail hour on the back deck overlooking the marsh was great and the Martini's were even better! Breakfast the next morning was delicious! We loved our visit so much that we already made our reservations and will be returning to Haven by the Sea next summer! We would recommend this Inn to anyone and have already told all of our friends and family!! Thank you John and Susan for your hospitality. You are truly Inn-Credible!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    12
    0
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
354
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

What a fabulous weekend, once again. My husband and I have been coming to Haven by the Sea for the past 5 years. It never disappoints. The accommodations are ever so comfortable. The location is spectacular- a minute walk to the beach. That said, the experience is really all about the inn keepers. John & Susan are so hospitable, kind, accommodating and like family. We always have such a wonderful time. Happy hour at the Temptations Bar is like no other. Breakfasts are delicious and so relaxing , especially in the summer, on the deck. We have recommended Haven by the Sea to so many of our friends as well. We have always had a 5 star experience!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristiethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

We have just spent a wonderful autumn weekend at the Haven By The Sea. Within minutes, you feel welcomed to this home away from home, seduced by the hospitality, personality and tranquility.
Within hours we were planning our next visit. I can't wait to try all the beautiful rooms and visit all four seasons!
Susan's breakfasts are superb especially the creme brulee' french toast, John is an engaging, entertaining host who ensures all their guests are comfortable.
From the charming exterior to the ambiance, humor, service and warmth that awaits you inside, proprietors Susan and John have created a retreat that can't help but become a favorite for us.
Thank-you.

  • Liked — The hospitality, comfort and easy access from the highway.
  • Disliked — Having to go home.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gonz2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

We have been going to Haven by the Sea for quite some time now. At least once or twice a year for the past 7-8 years. Sometimes more. It is top notch! We just love John and Susan, our Inn Keepers. They cater to every need. Nothing is missed. Can you say "pampered?" When we get to the Inn, I feel like I just came home. The outside world slips away and I am in paradise. The rooms are cleaned to perfection, would love for the housekeepers to come to my house! Breakfast, what can I say. I so much look forward to it. It's a surprise each morning. Just wonderful. Happy hour is one of my favorite events at the Inn. We get to gather with the other guests and get to know people. Laugh until it hurts. We've gotten to know so many people and made so many friends over the years. I can't even begin to say enough good about this wonderful little paradise on earth. I love coming here, and will continue do so for many years to come.

  • Liked — Loved Everything
  • Disliked — Loved Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Babs0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling,Ma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

If your looking for a fantastic B@B look no more.Haven By The Sea is your destination.This fantasticly decorated and kept Inn is somthing to behold.The rooms are so well decorated and cleaned it is hard to beleive that you are not the first to use them.The rest of the Inn,from the sitting areas to the eating areas, to the deck and grounds,things get better everywhere you look.
The breakfast is another fantastic surprise.Cooked and served by Sue and John,it is incredably tasty and you will enjoy every mouth full. Oh, have to mention the happy hour for guest's in the late afternoon,this is an experiance you will not forget.John and Sue will make your day and the cooktails are not bad either.Will not go into explaining this further you have to experience it for yourself.
John and Sue converted a church into this Inn and in our opinion no one could have done it better.They kept some of the original lines while making it a modern experience.
We would be doing the Haven an injustice if we didn't mention the most important part of the experience and that would be the inn keepers,John and Sue.They are the heart and sole of the experience we had.They pore their heart out to the guests and make everyones stay an experience to be remembered forever.If your looking for a B@B then the Haven By The Sea is the place in Maine for you.

  • Liked — Inn Keepers
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mass
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

My husband and I have been coming to this B&B every year since it opened 10 years ago. We come on our annoversary also. This is the only place that we will stay when we come up to Southern Maine. It has a beautiful atmosphere and the owners are soooo great! The Inn is the cleanest place we have ever stayed in and the service is unbelievable! We just love happy hour and the closeness to the beach. Plus the breakfasts are to die for!

Susan and John are the best people/friends that one could have and we will continue to stay at this Inn in the future every year.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CoreytheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

What we initially thought would be a quaint comfortable stay at this B&B soon turned into a tourist's nightmare.
The Inn is tastefully decorated and clean, but be warned of the thin walls, creaky floors and heavy wooden doors of this rennovated church .
This B&B has very strict regulations placed on their guests regarding noise of any kind. You will be STERNLY reprimanded about walking in the halls at night (ater 9 pm), closing your doors too loudly and talking in the halls (honeymooners beware!!)
For easier accomodation to our party, the proprietors suggested moving us to a different part of their Inn (they told us the other guests were bothered by our noise and that THEY were being unreasonable; so to make everyone happy, they were going to change our location). Unfortunately, we were unaware and uninformed (until check-out) that our NEW location would cost twice as much as our other room accomodations.
When we contested the price discrepency, we were spewed insults and profanities by the proprietors.
I have traveled throughout the country and have stayed at many B&B's and find the behavior of these proprietors to be Inn-Excusable!! Never Again will I submit myself to such horrible behavior as a paying customer.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank HuntingIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
4.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
5.6 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven By The Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven By The Sea B&B Inn

Property: Haven By The Sea B&B Inn
Address: 59 Church Street, Wells, ME 04090-4240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haven By The Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal. Relaxed. Desired. Ocean side, and centrally located between Ogunquit and Kennebunkport, this seaside bed and breakfast is Wells Beach premier B & B Inn. Once a seaside church, now completed renovated with oversize custom guestrooms and suites with waterviews. The Inn offers all the amenities you would expect at your finer lodging establishments including a complimentary breakfast and full bar service. Enjoy the terrace with its breeze from the ocean and surrounding marshlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Haven By The Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven By The Sea Hotel Wells
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing