We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great attention to detail - wonderful experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven By The Sea B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Foxboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great attention to detail - wonderful experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The "Haven By the Sea" is one of those places that gets an "Oh wow!!" when you first enter. This wonderful old church has been renovated into being a first class Inn. It's everything one could desire as a getaway to a wonderful place. The building itself has been given great attention to detail for preserving the old, and updating for the new. The colors, the architecture, the styling, and the welcoming friendliness that you feel the second you enter the door all pull together into being extremely positive experience.

Susan and John were excellent hosts. Susan's breakfasts were top notch, as was John's service and ability to suggest dinner locations and local attractions. Be sure to check out the Fisherman's Catch Restaurant for Lobster & Clams (a local favorite), and the Gypsy Sweethearts for a wonderful dining experience (definitely on the romantic side). John even has answers to little known questions such as "How did the Marginal Way get it's name?". Most impressive he was.

There's so much to do in the Wells Beach, Ogunquit, and Kennebunkport area ... my wife and I would highly recommend the "Haven by the Sea" as being the place to call home while visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a wonderful gas fireplace and is a bit larger ... however, our room 6 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    12
    0
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
354
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Foxboro, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Vacationing at Haven by the Sea was like experiencing Heaven by the Sea this past week-end for my husband and myself. John and Susan made us feel like family from the moment we entered the front door of their breathtaking B & B. Our room was extremely comfortable, immaculately clean, and beautifully decorated. The food, expertly prepared and served with close attention to detail, was truly scrumptious and presented in an appealing and creative manner. Recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the area were "spot on" and John even personally made reservations for us at area restaurants that he knew we would appreciate and enjoy. An all around delightful experience that we look forward to repeating over and over again. "Bravo" Susan and John, and we'll see you again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

On a two week trip with multiple stops, we haven’t often booked a five night stay anywhere, let alone at a place we hadn’t visited before. However, the Trip Advisor reviews for "Haven by the Sea" gave us the confidence to take that chance. We are so glad we did.

From the friendly greeting on arrival to the warm farewell on departure, we were pampered, entertained and made to feel “at home”.

John and Susan are perfect in their roles as hosts. Susan happened to be on the front steps when we arrived and instantly made us feel welcome. Her quiet conversation and her delicious breakfasts were highlights of our stay. And then there is John. Whenever we needed him, he was there, with his charismatic personality, wonderful sense of humour and desire to make every guest’s experience as enjoyable as possible. He was our upbeat “garcon” at breakfast and our very talented bartender at happy hour.

The décor is charming and oh-so-inviting. Attention has been paid to every detail in this conversion of church to inn. The relaxed elegance is pleasing to the eye, and more importantly, the creativity and thoughtfulness of the design anticipates your needs, and makes the whole experience so comfortable - and fun. There is a sign on a wall that says "you are a stranger here but once". This is so evident in the constant laughter and animated conversation, and only one reason why so many of their guests return year after year. As we hope to!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at Haven by the Sea. This was our first visit and we found the experience totally delightful! Susan and John made us feel "at home" from the moment we arrived. It was clear that John and Susan have a passion for providing the highest level of hospitality to their guests. We enjoyed the conversations with the other guests and Susan and John at breakfast time and while on the deck overlooking the marsh for cocktails. The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished, the breakfasts are incredibly delicious and the views are spectacular!

We are planning to return often! Thank you, Susan and John, for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: You will be happy with any of the rooms! They are all well appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband, sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Haven by the Sea. John and Susan are doing it all right from the moment they welcomed us into their "home" to the beautiful accommodations provided in their lovely Inn. My sister and I walked on the beach every morning and enjoyed this as one of the best stops we made on our Maine vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I recently visited HBTS for a long weekend, and we're already planning our next trip back! A beautiful coastal setting, in a gorgeously renovated church, and Susan and John's hospitality - the Haven delivers! The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed, and we were welcomed like long-lost friends upon arrival. John and Susan are great people who made sure we were always comfortable and taken care of - from cooking my wife's breakfasts special to avoid allergies, or making reservations at a restaurant for us, to offering up ideas for the days travel. The friendly and funny conversation at morning breakfast (or late afternoon cocktails on the terrace overlooking the marshes), with the other guests and John & Susan adds to unforgettable experience. Thank you for a wonderful time! Trac and Mark 24 Sept '13

Room Tip: If staying for an extended period, try the big suite - nicely furnished with plenty of room to sprea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VerMontminy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our 1st vacation north & Haven By The Sea was perfect. Susan, John & Sally made us feel right at home from moment arrived, great breakfasts, yummy drinks @ Temptations to the moment we had to go home. A beautiful renovated church to a very comfortable B & B with a short walk to the beach. Thank you. Sue & Lou. July 31. - Aug 4

Room Tip: All room perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
3.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven By The Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven By The Sea B&B Inn

Property: Haven By The Sea B&B Inn
Address: 59 Church Street, Wells, ME 04090-4240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haven By The Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal. Relaxed. Desired. Ocean side, and centrally located between Ogunquit and Kennebunkport, this seaside bed and breakfast is Wells Beach premier B & B Inn. Once a seaside church, now completed renovated with oversize custom guestrooms and suites with waterviews. The Inn offers all the amenities you would expect at your finer lodging establishments including a complimentary breakfast and full bar service. Enjoy the terrace with its breeze from the ocean and surrounding marshlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Haven By The Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven By The Sea Hotel Wells
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing