We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food ”
Review of Mekhong Thai Wells

Mekhong Thai Wells
Ranked #12 of 59 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

This was the most friendly restaurant we visited. The food was superb. We introduced a family member to Thai food and he loved it. The room is spacious and clean as a whistle. The staff are very friendly and owner takes immaculate care of the flowers and exterior grounds. The Taro pudding is a must try for dessert.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank robertrmpls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 169 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2016

Arriving in Wells Maine on a crowded summer weekend, the thought of driving Route 1 to find a restaurant for supper was dismal. The hotel we stayed in, Americas Best Value Inns & Cottages (4*) listed nearby places and offered a 15% discount for patronizing them. Mekong Thai delivered beautiful prepared meals to our room for reasonable price. We were very happy.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Unexpected treat to find good Thai food in a Maine beach town. The people who work there are very friendly, and they work hard to accommodate spicing interests.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 569jamiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

One of the best Thai restaurant we've been too! The hubby Said best meals he's had in a long time. Great vegetarian options and fried tofu is delicious! E

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank cybrjunkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We stayed overnight in a nearby hotel that offered a 15% discount at this restaurant. Seeing the traffic heading into Ogunquit, we opted to travel north to Mekong Thai. It did not disappoint!

We were a party of three, including twin 10 year olds. All are mainly vegetarian and we were happy to see the many choices available to those who don't eat meat. We started with vegetarian spring rolls and scallion pancakes. Both came out fresh and hot and were flavorful. I did feel the scallion pancakes were a tad overdone, but they were still enjoyable.

Our entrees were Pad Thai, Massaman curry (asked for it to be not spicy) with vegetables, and Rama Garden Noodle. They were delicious and the portions were excellent. Both of my daughters could not stop raving about how tasty their dinners were and I really enjoyed the curry which was very flavorful with chunks of tomato, pineapple, tomato, pea pods, and more.

We were undecided about whether to have dessert here or find a nice place to enjoy a summer ice cream, but were convinced after trying a sample of the black sesame ice cream. Both daughters ordered ice cream, one choosing only the black sesame and the other choosing a combination of the thai iced tea and black sesame. They were very tasty and refreshing. I opted for the thai pumpkin custard (the taro custard was already sold out). I had no idea what to expect, but was very pleasantly surprised. It was somewhat similarly flavored to a pumpkin pie, but with no crust and a more custardy filling. The pumpkin wasn't pureed, but finely sliced. I enjoyed it as did my girls.

The service was excellent as well. The waiter was very helpful and pleasant and the other staff were concerned for our comfort and needs as well.

The prices were very reasonable, especially considering the large portions (definitely enough for left-overs, but being that we were hungry, there was little left for that!).

My girls enjoyed this meal so much they wanted to go back the next day. Sadly, it wasn't allowed due to time, but if we are ever visiting the area again we will definitely stop at Mekong Thai!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekhong Thai Wells also viewed

 

Been to Mekhong Thai Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.