We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Hollis, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can do better”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Not awful, but for the money there are nicer places in Wells. The interior was actually nicer than the exterior would suggest. Of course my opinion is just a little influenced by the fact that when my credit card bill came, I had been mischarged for a 3 night stay (amounting to $367) that occurred 5 days before we arrived at Wells. This was in addition to the charge for the night that we actually did stay there.

I booked via booking.com to reserve a night. The charge shows up for June 22-June 24. We stayed overnight for one night for June 29th (which appeared correctly as a separate charge). American Express is handling the mischarge, but the fact that our credit card number was so mishandled scares the hell out of me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. After further research, it looks like when you called our front desk to report this on July 17th, your credit card was immediately issued a refund of the amount you mentioned. It looks like there was a system issue that charged your credit card for the incorrect amount. I am glad to hear that you called our desk to report this, and we were able to immediately resolve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    76
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
77
76
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We usually camp but this time a good deal was available on this motel so we went for it.

The motel location is easy to find directly on the US 1, it is not to far from the grocery store and the beach acces (but to go there walking you would have a long walk ~30min, but the trolley stop close to the motel if you don't want to drive).

The desk staff was very friendly and helpfull, the room was clean, a fridge and microwave were available in the room and bbq were also available outside. The motel also offer a clean pool that was unfurtunatly closing at dusk.

The only improvement that we could suggest was to extend the range of the wi-fi so it could be accessible in the room and there was a big gap at the bottom of the room door that was letting out all the clim (mainly for energy saving, the room was chilled enough)

Overhall it was a good and clean motel, not too expensive, offering good location and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Cleanliness is our top priority! Our staff goes through a detailed checklist, and we also inspect our rooms to ensure our guests are receiving a clean room.

For safety reasons we do close the pool as soon as it becomes dark. We are looking into installing a bright light inside the pool in order to leave it open for a few more hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Frontdesk staff was very helpfull and friendly when checking in. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. Located right on highway 1. Easy acces and parking small very nice pool area. Lots off great places to eat nearby. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIBDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Yes, we are located right on the main road, and close to many attractions. Sounds like you enjoyed our discounts to the local restaurants!

We appreciate you staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family take a trip to wells every year. We have stayed in many places around the area. We saw this motel and went in to check the prices. They were very reasonable. When we went to our rooms we were surprised how nice they were! We weren't expecting great things but we got them anyway. We all slept really well. The beds are very very comfortable. The staff cleaned out room every day so that was a bonus. They were very helpful and friendly. From all our years spent in the area this is by far one of the best!!! We will be back again for years to come!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophiekorlane248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! Our mattresses are new so we are glad to hear you slept well! We love when a frequent visitor to the maine coast picks us as their choice of accommodation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stumbled upon this newly-renovated, little gem of a place with accomodations to meet everyone's needs either in with one of the rooms which is very comfortable (ours had the BEST water pressure ever and a super-comfy bed!!!) or one of the little cottages for a throw-back to vacationing in Maine during the 1950s (but with modern conveniences like big, new, flat-screen TVs and great AC!). This is truly a wonderful, family-owned business being run by people who take tremendous pride in their new venture. I would recommend this place hands down!!! It's a real bargain and we will be back but with friends next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
So glad to hear that you'll be coming back....with more folks!! Yes, we do have wide range of room types available from standard rooms, suites with a kitchen, and cottages!

We appreciate the positive feedback and we are excited to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

You can tell the people who took over this place put a ton of time and effort into making this a top quality hotel. Our room was new/clean and the staff was excellent. We utilized the outdoor space to bbq and hang out side and we were minutes from the beach. All in all a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We certainly did put a ton of money into the property, so we are glad to hear that you noticed, and enjoyed the accommodations! Also, it is nice to know you took advantage of our BBQ grills on site!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

this motel was right on the main road close to all restaurants shops and beaches. the room was a standard double room. it was very clean and pleasant in appearance. it had a mini fridge,coffee maker and microwave. The pool was clean and easily accessible and the front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The only thing to consider when booking is that there are 2 levels and being on the first floor you can definitely hear those staying above. I would stay here again. The price was good and accomodations were clean and convenient.

Room Tip: second floor rooms will not have overhead noise from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellarooski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIWells, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! Our standard amenities include a mini fridge and microwave in all of our rooms.

We also make sure our pool is inspected and kept up to date daily! We are glad to hear that you would stay again with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.5 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.9 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
239 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
404 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.6 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
Address: 424 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4020 (Formerly Midway Motel and Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Cottages Wells/Ogunquit. Our hotel is in within one mile of beautiful Moody and Wells Beach making us the perfect place for your getaway. Our modern, well-appointed facility is designed for the entire family. Our tree-lined grounds are spacious with picnic tables, grass areas, and easy parking. Stretch out and enjoy the beautiful days of summer right here. We are conveniently located off of US 1 and I-95.Visitors from all directions travel to Wells/Ogunquit area during the warmer months and spend time in and around the surrounding areas shopping, dining and enjoying many entertainment venues and attractions. There are several restaurants nearby our hotel including Pine Tree Farm Market and Cafe, Seacoast Pizza and Pasta, and Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant. Wells/Ogunquit is host to annual festivals including the Native American Pow-Wow and the Holy Spirit Parish Fair. Visit Wonder Mountain Fun Park for some extreme mini-golf or go on a scenic cruise with Finestkind Cruises. See some amazing wildlife at The Wells National Estuarine Research Reserve and Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge. Play a round of golf at Cape Neddick Country Club or try your luck fishing with Bunny Clark Deep Sea Fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing