We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in heart of Wells, Maine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was referred to this place by a friend. Great location in Wells, Maine right near Ogunquit Beach and Perkins cove. The place offers cottages as well as motel rooms on the property. Our group of 10 rented out 2 cottages for the weekend and Midway exceeded out expectations. The cottages were right next to each other. with our own picnic tables/ grills. The cottages had everything you needed: kitchen, bath, cooking utensils, fridge stove... etc. 1 full sized bed, 2 twins and a big pullout couch. Very cozy and comfortable. Pool was closed bc it was summer season is ending. The customer service and staff at the place was great. The front office accommodated our group very well, frequently checked up on us if we needed anything, towels, kitchenware, very flexible with check in/out. Amazing diner/cute shop right across the street for breakfast/brunch. Trolley to town/beach/ restaurants right near the motel. Front office called taxis for us anytime we needed bc of our large group. great place to stay if ever in Wells. Recommend midway to families, young couples/groups.

Room Tip: Its Wells. Almost all the hotels/motels are small mom and pop shops. MIdway stood out for the custom...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoilChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at midway. I am happy that you liked the cottage. As you mentioned, our cottages are located in the very back of the property and offer a lot of privacy. It's great to hear that you and your party utilized the trolley that picks you up right outside our motel.

As the new owner of the motel as of August 2012, we had to shut down the pool due to mechanical issues. But don't worry, when you come back next year it will be open for the bulk of the season, with improved lighting and furniture!

We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 275 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Midway Motel and it was AMAZING. The cottages were very clean, supplied with everything we needed in the kitchen, the office was very accommodating to our needs and provided us with extra blankets and everything else we wanted. They also have grills and picnic benches/tables so you can bbq. It is very close to town and the office has a trolley or they will call the cabs for you. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, very very reasonably price, would recommend it to my friends. Definitely coming back =)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had an excellent stay. I am glad that you noticed our reasonable prices. We really try to provide a great quality, and clean room for our customers at a great value. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have been making our annual trek to Wells, Maine for the last 5 years, and stayed at the Midway each and every time. We have rented the cabins that are behind the motel part, and have always been very, very happy.
Our units have each had 2 bedrooms, living room, and a galley kitchen. There is picnic tables and grills available for use. The front office was happy to supply fresh towels and other items as needed also.
We also enjoyed the pool this year-plenty big enough for the people staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzieq43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Midway, and are a frequent customer! The motel is now under new management of August 2012, and our goal for you is to provide even a better experience for you at Midway! We will be keeping the same staff, and it is reassuring that they treated you with great service. One thing we were able to this September was obtain brand new picnic tables, and that are sturdy.

I hope to see, and meet you next year on your Annual trek at Midway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our family of 4 had no idea where to stay in Maine, so we went with the Midway Motel based on the recommendation from our friends. What a great decision! Highlights for us: The room was clean/comfortable. The other renters were all nice and joyful. We felt totally safe/slept great...Coffee maker in the rooms. The new owners were very welcoming/friendly/helpful with questions. Sure, it's not a 5 star hotel but the prices at this time were the best around (parking was tight). But, if you want a comfortable, quiet,safe place to stay while you're at the beach/boardwalk, this is it! The owners obviously take pride in their business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you for your response. I am so glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Midway. We do take our business very serious and always try to give our customers the best value. We are renovating our motel, and it will be even better next year. Please do comeback if you are ever in the area - we'd be delighted to accomodate you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The front desk clerk was extremely pleasant! The rest:
The location is average, not on the water but accessible to all. Exterior of motel a bit dated but not as bad as some...
The room, I'll be nice because it was clean however the Glade plugin freshener was nauseating, took it out and put it in a drawer. The room was so old and dated. Mold in the ceiling tile of the shower. Needs MUCH attention and updating. Tv was basic antenna cable only. Beds all noisy springs, ill fitting sheets, terrible spreads. Could go on but you get the picture.

Pool looked cute a bit small...
I would not visit again. I am in a Wyndham right now for less money albeit not near a beach, but feel like I'm in heaven!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dachsund2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I want to let you know that as of August 2012, the motel is now under new management.

I am extremely happy hearing that the staff was pleasant to you.

However, more importantly, I am disappointed that you had an inconvenient stay here at Midway. As the new owner, I will be the first to admit that the motel needs attention and updating. We have started to renovate the motel, and plan on including updates to the following: Plasma TVs, new linen (pillow cases, bed sheets, etc), new bed spreads, updated ceiling tiles where needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Croque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4143, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sonia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4143, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.9 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#12 of 28 in Wells
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages

Address: 424 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4020 (Formerly Midway Motel and Cottages)
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $72 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Cottages Wells/Ogunquit. Our hotel is in within one mile of beautiful Moody and Wells Beach making us the perfect place for your getaway. Our modern, well-appointed facility is designed for the entire family. Our tree-lined grounds are spacious with picnic tables, grass areas, and easy parking. Stretch out and enjoy the beautiful days of summer right here. We are conveniently located off of US 1 and I-95.Visitors from all directions travel to Wells/Ogunquit area during the warmer months and spend time in and around the surrounding areas shopping, dining and enjoying many entertainment venues and attractions. There are several restaurants nearby our hotel including Pine Tree Farm Market and Cafe, Seacoast Pizza and Pasta, and Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant. Wells/Ogunquit is host to annual festivals including the Native American Pow-Wow and the Holy Spirit Parish Fair. Visit Wonder Mountain Fun Park for some extreme mini-golf or go on a scenic cruise with Finestkind Cruises. See some amazing wildlife at The Wells National Estuarine Research Reserve and Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge. Play a round of golf at Cape Neddick Country Club or try your luck fishing with Bunny Clark Deep Sea Fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing