We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WELL, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mass
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WELL, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The front desk clerk was extremely pleasant! The rest:
The location is average, not on the water but accessible to all. Exterior of motel a bit dated but not as bad as some...
The room, I'll be nice because it was clean however the Glade plugin freshener was nauseating, took it out and put it in a drawer. The room was so old and dated. Mold in the ceiling tile of the shower. Needs MUCH attention and updating. Tv was basic antenna cable only. Beds all noisy springs, ill fitting sheets, terrible spreads. Could go on but you get the picture.

Pool looked cute a bit small...
I would not visit again. I am in a Wyndham right now for less money albeit not near a beach, but feel like I'm in heaven!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dachsund2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidwayMotel, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I want to let you know that as of August 2012, the motel is now under new management.

I am extremely happy hearing that the staff was pleasant to you.

However, more importantly, I am disappointed that you had an inconvenient stay here at Midway. As the new owner, I will be the first to admit that the motel needs attention and updating. We have started to renovate the motel, and plan on including updates to the following: Plasma TVs, new linen (pillow cases, bed sheets, etc), new bed spreads, updated ceiling tiles where needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    76
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
75
73
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
2.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.6 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#9 of 28 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Beach Rose Inn
The Beach Rose Inn
#4 of 9 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages
Address: 424 Post Road, U.S. Route 1, Wells, ME 04090 (Formerly Midway Motel and Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Cottages Wells/Ogunquit. Our hotel is in within one mile of beautiful Moody and Wells Beach making us the perfect place for your getaway. Our modern, well-appointed facility is designed for the entire family. Our tree-lined grounds are spacious with picnic tables, grass areas, and easy parking. Stretch out and enjoy the beautiful days of summer right here. We are conveniently located off of US 1 and I-95.Visitors from all directions travel to Wells/Ogunquit area during the warmer months and spend time in and around the surrounding areas shopping, dining and enjoying many entertainment venues and attractions. There are several restaurants nearby our hotel including Pine Tree Farm Market and Cafe, Seacoast Pizza and Pasta, and Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant. Wells/Ogunquit is host to annual festivals including the Native American Pow-Wow and the Holy Spirit Parish Fair. Visit Wonder Mountain Fun Park for some extreme mini-golf or go on a scenic cruise with Finestkind Cruises. See some amazing wildlife at The Wells National Estuarine Research Reserve and Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge. Play a round of golf at Cape Neddick Country Club or try your luck fishing with Bunny Clark Deep Sea Fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing