We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals and tourist alike!”
Review of The Boon Island Ale House - CLOSED

The Boon Island Ale House
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Casual, Comfortably Elegant Chef Inspired Restaurant with a Nautical flare.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Locals and tourist alike!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have eaten there several times. The first couple of times were a disappointment (the lobster potato skins could have been amazing but were just ok). However, the last time we ate there, the food was amazing. I had the pumpkin mascarpone ravioli with braised beef short rib was out of this world. Hubby had the pork chop with apples and raisins. Another guest had the seafood bouillabaisse and his wife had the chicken dish. We were very impressed with this visit and will definitely go back--especially for the pints of beer at $3.75

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dlduson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    37
    27
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“*****EXCELLENT*****”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Can't say enough. The food is excellent, staff is friendly and prompt. The owners Tina and Phil are constantly in the front and back supervising the prep and service of the meals. We have never had a bad experience. From the Entrees to the Burgers always served with an Orchid garnish on the plate. Bar staff very friendly and remember what the returning customers order. Tastefully decorated. Very clean and neat. They go above and beyond to satisfy the customer. Make it a point to stop by for the Sunday Brunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Boone for Brunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family and I stumbled upon the Boone Island Ale house while driving North up the Post Road from Ogunquit looking for a restaurant that wasn't packed for Sunday Brunch. At first glance, one might think to keep driving as the outside of this place looks more like a large scale dive bar than a restaurant - let alone a restaurant for Sunday brunch.The restaurant's wooden sign, which says BIA, not Boone Island Ale House, looks like it was hastily made in someones basement. We decided to pull into BIA because after striking out twice elsewhere for brunch we were running out of options.
What a difference once you get inside. It was not what we were expecting. It was nicely decorated with a nautical theme. The decor appears almost upscale with white table cloths. The hostess and waitstaff were incredibly friendly. The owner, Captain Phil also came over to see how we were being treated.
We thought the brunch menu had a good variety of choices. My wife ordered the Lobster Benedict and I ordered the French Toast. I think it was Maple Walnut French Toast. Regardless, It was delicious, as was the Lobster Benedict. The entire menu was very reasonably priced.
Overall, we had a very nice brunch and will absolutely be back again.We can't wait to try the Boon Island Ale House for dinner the next time we vacation in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CTSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food but poorly prepared.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Family tried it out as a early dinner choice, all of our meals were good except mine. I ordered a seafood pizza that would of tasted good but the bottom of the crust was charred beyond being edible. I ended up eating the toppings and left the crust. They had a couple of house beers that are brewed off site that were ok. They also had a couple of visiting brews.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BDC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
“I'll be back”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a surprise. We went out thinking we were going to a brew pub, and found a nice restaraunt instead. So nice to have a reasonably priced meal with a tasty craft beer that wasn't chicken wings, or the same old bar food. I had the maple glazed salmon, that was excellent, my wife had the lobster mac and cheese and ate every bite. Nice to enjoy our meal in a non-rushed, comfortable atmosphere. We waited for our table on the nice leather couches in front of the fireplace, with a football game on the big screen. Best of both worlds in my book.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boon Island Ale House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing