We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Misty Harbor Resort
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived without a booking, checked trip advisor reviews and online prices and checked in. It was a quiet off peak mid week night. The service from reception was excellent. The room was very spacious, bed comfortable, very clean. Great shower.

The only draw back for us was the security lighting- which is great, but no block out curtains. Not too bad ..... a simple thing to remedy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    179
    34
    6
    11
See reviews for
361
217
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here had booked for 4 days then added another day on. The rooms were nice , indoor pool and whirlpool were all clean and maintained all the time. We saw them checking both for chemicals etc. There is an outside deck with both sun and shade. After reading some of the reviews we were a bit unsure. Chose to book it anyway as I wanted to be able to walk the mile to the beach and from the resort it is a mile. The only time we heard anyone was the last day their were children upstairs but outside the rooms running. I blame the parents not the resort for this. We didn't have a problem with people over us at all. We had no rowdy kids or adults and were at the pool at all different times. We never had any problem with our room or the maids. We never left out kindles or laptops either. We did however have a pile of change mostly quarters on the table and not 1 even went missing. Common sense I would think. I do wish they had in room safes anything of value we took with us. Not sure who the manager is as we never needed to see them. Check in and out was organized and timely. Yes we would return again. Great location and the rooms are perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eptcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here last weekend with my mother, brother, and husband. We had a two bedroom unit for three nights and it worked out perfect! It 1 had queen bed in each of the bedrooms and a pull out queen sofa in the living room. I was a little nervous after reading some of the bad reviews but we had no problems with our room whatsoever. It was very clean and had everything we needed kitchen wise! Things are a little out dated but everything is kept clean so that wasn't a real issue.

We opted for the beach everyday so we never tried the pool, although it did look busy!

It is located in a great area. Less than a mile from the beach and 4 restaurants in walking distance, that all have good food! Not to mention that it is across the street from a shopping center that has a grocery store and movie theater for rainy days!

Overall, it was a good time, centrally located to the beach, clean and spacious. We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lfratt320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there years ago and had pleasant stays. New managers are not up to the job. Place has become quite seedy. It's full of rowdy kids in the pool at all hours. Hot tub looked like a public toilet. Other than its relatively close proximity (one mile) to the beach it's got nothing going for it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobalouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I just returned from what was supposed to be five days at the misty harbor but left after the second night. We went out early evening around 330pm came back around 8pm that night and found someone had been in our room, we asked to speak to the manager but he was not available until the next day. Todd the manager denied anyone being in our room than later, confirmed they were there, to perform a service to clean yet they didn't clean they only helped themselves to my purse found in the middle of the room. Todd the manager, stated this did not happen calling us liars even though we slept that second night with a chair behind the door because was not available until morning. His response you had a deadbolt, yes to which you and your staff have the key. My FOUR year old was not staying one more day there on top of which the pull out sofa for the one bedroom unit was disgusting all stained we put sheets on it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerryD, Manager at Misty Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Erica E. and Family,

First of all, our sincerest apology that we could not make you feel comfortable. We pride ourselves on creating a clean, comfortable atmosphere where families can feel at home. When the registration office contacted management about your concern over a missing dishcloth and your handbag having been discovered on the floor upon your return to your suite, but that nothing was missing from it, we felt there must be a logical explanation.

Unfortunately we then had a miscommunication, and we apologize for someone from management not responding better to your situation immediately. The next day, upon checking with the housekeeper, in her 12th season with us, it was discovered that she had in fact serviced the room. Again, as nothing was missing, we surmised that maybe the purse was not placed securely on the shelf. When you stated that you did not believe that to be the case and mentioned calling the police, you were encouraged to do so. We stand behind our staff, most of whom have been with us multiple years. We do not believe it is likely that if someone had indeed gone through your bag that they would not put it back as they had found it.

As for your safety and security, all rooms do have deadbolts and our staff does not have ready access to these keys and they are trained not to enter rooms when occupied and/or dead bolted.

Lastly I must apologize again if you found the sleep sofa mattress offensive. Please rest assured that messes are sanitized when stains occur but some stains do not fully wash out, all mattresses are covered with a mattress pad and linens. We are very conscientious of the fact that a clean resort is the first step in making guests feel at home and comfortable.

Once again, we are VERY sorry this situation caused you such concern and you were not completely comfortable here.

Sincerely,

Derry Downey,
Misty Harbor Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family and I just stayed a week here at Misty Harbor Resort, it was a very nice place. We had 2 bedroom (queen and King bed) and a loft living room with pull out sofa.
The place we stayed in had new carpet, had a fully stocked kitchen and was everything the website said. The registration office personnel were extremely helpful and friendly. Housekeeping did an excellent job. We didn't use the pool because we prefer the beach but it was there if we wanted too. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krillManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

While the units are spacious, the indoor swimming pool is small and not properly maintained. It was so dirty that we hesitated to swim there.

Also, the carpets and sofas in our unit clearly needed refreshment. Disapointing in regard of the price paid, $170. U.S. a night. In the same week-end, friends found similar accomodation in central Ogunquit for $120. a night. Would not return to Misty Harbor.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor. You hear people walking over your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacques514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
2.0 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.8 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.2 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Harbor Resort

Property: Misty Harbor Resort
Address: 60 Mile Rd, P.O. Box 367, Wells Beach, Wells, ME 04090-4127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Harbor Resort is an all suite condominium hotel resort adjacent to the Rachel Carson Wildlife Refuge, and just 3/4 mile from beautiful Wells Beach, Maine. Guest enjoy spacious, air conditioned one and two bedroom condominium suites complete with full kitchens, dining area and scenic views of the marshlands and ocean beyond.Resort Amenities include indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, pool deck, exercise room, outdoor playground, grills, picnic tables and more. We have resort wide Free Wireless Internet access. Popular Varano's Italian Restaurant is located on the premises, and the trolley stops at our entrance in season. Misty Harbor Resort is open year round with many off season specials available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Misty Harbor Hotel Wells
Misty Harbor Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing