We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VBTS-YES!”
Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice place to stay on vacation in Wells. Agree with the good reviews of previous guests. My wife, 3 children and I had a great time. The unit was roomy and clean. Had to hike up stairs to get to our top floor 2 bedroom 2 bath unit but was worth it. Beautiful view! The cleaning staff were great. The only thing I didn't like was the game room was hot (old not working window unit ac) and the indoor pool felt as if we were in a cave but enjoyed the outdoor pool- heated just right. We were also blessed with great weather and spent a lot of time at the beach-we like Footbridge beach about a 15 min. ride. All in all a nice place for families and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtimbo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 874 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've stayed here twice and can not wait to come back. Both times the rooms were beautiful and very clean, with great views. Our daughter and her friend loved the indoor and outdoor pools, as did my wife and I. The staff is professional and super friendly! Great location, Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have visited Village by the Sea on several occasions. August 14-21st. 2013. The staff is wonderful. However the unit we stayed in 2D is in need of a good cleaning. The living room furniture is dirty and sagging the rugs are filthy. The sheets had stains, the blanket had holes and the bed cover looked liked it has never been washed. The ceiling in the bathroom had a leak. When I called maintenance they showed up within minutes. They spoke to the tenants above us so they knew when they used the shower the water was going to leak into the bathroom below. Well guess what? They continued to use that shower when they had access to the other bathroom. We enjoy staying there but I don't we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTS, Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. In reading your review, I must say we certainly fell short in delivering the exceptional accommodations you have come to know and expect while at Village by the Sea and for this I would like to extend my sincere apologies. As you may be aware all of our units are individually owned and therefore the décor differs significantly from unit to unit. I have visited the unit you have referred to in your review and will be providing the owner with an annual inspection that will outline the necessary improvements needed before the spring of 2014. It is through the feedback of valued customers such as you that will assist us in improving areas that are currently flawed.
This does not excuse the leaking bathroom ceiling or the torn bedding you experienced and I can assure you that I will use these deficiencies as training scenarios in the future. The ceiling leak can be caused by a diverter needing to be changed but in this case it was caused by the guest above you showering with the shower liner outside the bathtub. The water looks for an exit and unfortunately it made its way down into your unit through the ceiling. The bedding in this unit has been removed and replaced with property issued bedding for the time being.
I know that if you are open to giving Village by the Sea another chance we can find accommodations that will exceed your expectations. If you would like to call me directly I would be more than happy to assist you in making reservations. I thank you again for your time and look forward to making up for the inconvenience you experienced. Have a wonderful day!
Yours truly,
Jill Robie
Hotel & Conference Center Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We plan to get married at VBTS next year and decided to stay to celebrate one year prior to our big day! We are beyond excited to share this special place with our family and friends. The hospitality was incredible, loved our condo (so affordable), and the view was amazing! We totally took advantage of the amenities and felt as if we were at home.

We look forward to returning each year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've been vacationing in the Wells/Ogunquit area for over 50 years and have stayed in a variety of accommodations from beach houses to motel units. Village by the Sea is ideal for us who travel with our extended family. We all have plenty of space and privacy in our own condos yet can easily visit from unit to unit. The upper floor units have a magnificent view of the shore and all condos have outdoor decks or patios. The kids love the choice of indoor or outdoor pools after a day on the beautiful beach. The kitchen is fully equipped for cooking full meals although you are also within a short drive of terrific seafood restaurants. The service is friendly and very helpful. We appreciated that an item I had left behind was immediately located and mailed to our home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was our first time staying at Village by the Sea. Our condo unit was wonderful. It was so clean and spacious. We enjoyed sitting on our deck enjoying the view. We travelled with our two adult children. The second bedroom had two twin beds which worked out perfectly. The couch in the livingroom was a pullout couch which my son' s girlfriend used when she stayed one night. There were plenty of restaurants in the area and plenty of antique shops as well. Lots of traffic the whole time we were there no matter what direction we went in. Village by the sea is located less than 10 minutes from Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. Both are worth a ride to. Get there earlier in the day so you can find parking. Wells beach was also very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our first time at VBTS. The staff was very friendly and the condo was clean and spacious. We had some problems with our toilet, but it was fixed in less than 20 minutes. It was also very close to the beach. Barbecues were also available. Excellent place for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fistoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.7 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range: $89 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing