We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Find of the Year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Find of the Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent 4 days here and had two different couples join us for two days each. All of us were wowed by the accomodations and loved the views of the ocean from the balconies. Waking up to see the sunrise over the ocean was spectacular! Off-season prices can't be beat; staff was attentive to all of our questions and requests. Housekeeping staff went beyond expectations to serve. My sister suggested that we make this an annual tradition.

Room Tip: If you want the best water views, choose a room on one of the top two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    148
    34
    27
    16
See reviews for
319
182
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport Center, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Pleasantly surprised! Have stayed at other resorts in the area, and wanted to have a view of the marsh this time and what a beautiful view it was to wake up to! VBTS was very responsive in our requests for information and gave us a great deal!
The suite was very roomy, comfortable, clean with a well-stocked kitchen. Beautiful decor, and our unit was supplied with games, movies and reading material for all. Will come back next year with extended family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided at last minute to spend a night in Wells and looked for either a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit or 2 separate rooms. Found a great rate for Village by the Sea. The unit was very spacious. The living room/dining room were very comfortable. Large well equipped kitchen and unit also included a washer/dryer. Really a great place for a family vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors would give better view toward ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmps59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Village by the Sea is the perfect place for a family vacation. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that was our home away from home. We really didn't want to leave. It's perfect for a family because you have multiple bedrooms and bathrooms, and a full kitchen. We stayed in February, and we could see the shore front from our front door. We took a short drive to Kennebunkport for the day, and everything is just as beautiful as the summer - just quieter :) I'm ready to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazziestearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wonderful place to stay with a family. Very relaxed and comfortable. The unit had everything we needed to cook a great dinner. Kids hung out at the pool while the adults relaxed and got food on the table. Have stayed there twice. Will be back anytime we're visiting southern Maine or Boston area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've been going to VBTS for almost ten years and would highly recommend the property to friends and family, Each unit is privately owned resulting in a wide variety of furnishings. I travel with a friend and it's nice for each of us to have our own room which is so much better than a hotel room. All of the rooms overlook the marsh which is especially beautiful in the morning when the sun rises over the ocean. VBTS is comfortable and relaxing and we'll be returning in the Fall,

Room Tip: We had a room with a gas fireplace which made it cozy on windy, cold evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I just returned from out vacation to Village by the Sea. We stayed two nights and my kids loved it! It was really quiet, still the off-season in Maine, so they had the pool to themselves the whole time. It is so nice to go somewhere and have all the comforts and amenities of home. I was able to do our laundry in the comfort of our room and not have to worry about it when I got home. We stayed in room 3D and couldn't have asked for more. The décor was comfy and homey, the fireplace was great and the view was beautiful. The location was near everything, especially my husband's favorite restaurant, The Steakhouse. We are looking forward to coming back to Maine maybe in June and will definitely stay here again. You can't beat the price for what you're getting. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcalhoun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
5.8 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Property: Village by the Sea
Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Village By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing